Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Improved Unarmed Strike (Kick, Elbows, etc...)


Rules Questions

51 to 61 of 61 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Selvaxri wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
Just to be clear I am talking about creatures with 2 arms to keep this simple.

*opens can of worms*

What about an alchemist or any class with access to the "Vestigial Arm" Discovery?!

One thing that nobody has mentioned is- enemies with multiple attacks take a -5 penalty to hit with anything other than their primary.
Be grateful that player characters are "restricted" to thier BAB and Tw-weapon fighting rules.

*places can of worm on table and leaves.*

Vestigial Arm already hard codes that you can't get extra attacks from them.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The game is designed for 2 arms, period.


CALLBACK
This needs a FAQ. Not sure if we should try wording it here or just go back to the thread I linked and tag some posts there for FAQ.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Yaba wrote:

CALLBACK

This needs a FAQ. Not sure if we should try wording it here or just go back to the thread I linked and tag some posts there for FAQ.

No FAQ needed. The answer is NO. Flurry doesn't require/use offhands so gaining more has no impact on its function. Now there could be a question with brawlers flurry as Multiweapon Fighting replaces the Two-Weapon Fighting feat for creatures with more than two arms: That's not the question asked though.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

1 person marked this as a favorite.

What’s to FAQ.
Humans (and other two hand) have a primary and one offhand.
Kasatha has one primary and 3 offhand.

You only have attacks equal to your total offhand via twf/mwf rules.

Nothing else adds attacks to offhand.
Haste and other things (that mostly don’t stack) add things to bab/primary attacks.

There isn’t much confusion on this subject. Yes you can find the occasional thread where no one came along to correct for this. Yes you can find FAQ answer threads (vestigilearm) where developers tried in vain to explain how some where reading the rules wrong like you are. No that doesn’t mean you get infinite attacks just cause.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

@Yaba: If you want a FAQ, please refer exactly and specifically to what existing rules needs to be cleared up. Because you seem to be looking for new rules, not a clarification of existing rules.


Selvaxri wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
Just to be clear I am talking about creatures with 2 arms to keep this simple.

*opens can of worms*

What about an alchemist or any class with access to the "Vestigial Arm" Discovery?!

One thing that nobody has mentioned is- enemies with multiple attacks take a -5 penalty to hit with anything other than their primary.
Be grateful that player characters are "restricted" to thier BAB and Tw-weapon fighting rules.

*places can of worm on table and leaves.*

The Vestigial arm specifically can not be used to make an extra(outside of TWF) attack. That is plainly written in the description.

Quote:
The arm does not give the alchemist any extra attacks or actions per round, though the arm can wield a weapon and make attacks as part of the alchemist’s attack routine (using two-weapon fighting).

Also nobody mentioned enemies with multiple attacks because they are most likely outside of the imagined scenario. The goal of the thread was not to cover every possible situation AFAIK.


I started a new thread as a FAQ request.

Maximum number of off-hand attacks for beings with more or less than two prehensile limbs and no defining text in the source of said extra or missing limbs.

I hope people will support this FAQ request.


graystone wrote:
Yaba wrote:

CALLBACK

This needs a FAQ. Not sure if we should try wording it here or just go back to the thread I linked and tag some posts there for FAQ.
No FAQ needed. The answer is NO.

The OP question was answered by four posts in. Then someone suggested not using flurry. The subsequent ~200 posts were an argument about that topic. And apparently the posters (back in 2013) had seen the same argument repeatedly, always with no resolution and no FAQ response.

This thread took a little longer to shift to the topic of off-hand attacks vs number of hands, as I needed someone to prove first that the cap was tied to hands, not armed body parts (or in the case of unarmed strikes, all body parts). However, once again, the question of off-hand attacks for multi-handed beings remains unresolved, with three distinctly different answers being insisted upon as correct by their respective supporters, and several people refusing to address the scenario of extra arms at all.

This thread was started because of another topic about a multi-handed eidolon. The question of off-hand attacks wasn't resolved there either. The OP of both threads appears to have departed after accepting the answer, "It's a grey area. Ask your GM."

So I made a thread SPECIFICALLY asking about off-hand attacks for PCs (or eidolons) with more (or less) than two arms.

I hope this explains why a FAQ is needed.


Yaba wrote:
I hope this explains why a FAQ is needed.

No FAQ needed. The only multi-armed question out there that needs an FAQ is if you can use 2 two-handed weapons in two weapon fighting if you have 4+ hands.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

graystone wrote:
Yaba wrote:
I hope this explains why a FAQ is needed.
No FAQ needed. The only multi-armed question out there that needs an FAQ is if you can use 2 two-handed weapons in two weapon fighting if you have 4+ hands.

+1

There is established FAQ and dev explanations of said FAQ that answer all except that question.

51 to 61 of 61 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Improved Unarmed Strike (Kick, Elbows, etc...) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.