Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Attack of Opportunity + 5-foot step


Rules Questions


We have

Quote:

Take 5-Foot Step

You can move 5 feet in any round when you don’t perform any other kind of movement. Taking this 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity. You can’t take more than one 5-foot step in a round, and you can’t take a 5-foot step in the same round that you move any distance.

You can take a 5-foot step before, during, or after your other actions in the round.

You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn’t hampered by difficult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can’t take a 5-foot step, since moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature.

You may not take a 5-foot step using a form of movement for which you do not have a listed speed.

It's nowhere said that I have to make the 5-feet step on my turn, though the limitation of it having to be next or during another action makes it easiest to make during my turn. There's also an explicit rule that it can be used as a part of a readied action. But can it be used after an attack of opportunity? (Assuming I haven't moved in the same round yet, etc.)


I believe this is technically true though the mechanical benefit seems pretty small.

Note: You don't re-threaten an AoO for moving through a second opp's square (which is what I'm assuming you're trying to set up.) A relevant discussion and rules quote found here.

If it's to dodge a "Charge" attack, as long as you're still in range I believe the opp will still "get to you" and swing.

So again, I believe it's all legal, but you'd be hard pressed to make it terribly useful without some very specific set up (The opp charges and this puts you just out of range; you use this to dodge a trample/overrun attempt by sidestepping, etc..)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Nope, you doing anything needs to be on your turn only unless specifically granted by another rule.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I don't think standard actions or move actions specifically state it needs to be done in your turn also. Thankfully, they don't need to because one can only perform actions on their turn besides immediate actions and free action (speak) because those ones specifically state otherwise:

Speak wrote:
In general, speaking is a free action that you can perform even when it isn't your turn. Speaking more than a few sentences is generally beyond the limit of a free action.
Immediate Action wrote:
However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time—even if it's not your turn.

A 5-foot step is a miscellaneous action that is done on your turn. There are specific cases of 5-foot stepping outside your turn, such as with the Step Up feat, but it turns that miscellaneous action into an immediate action so that it works within the rules. Readied actions also had to specifically state one can 5-foot step and even then readying an action is a special initiative-altering action that essentially let's one delay and finish part of one's turn later, but attacks of opportunities have no such exception granting a 5-foot step.


This is also negated by attacks of opportunity not being defined as actions.


Oops! I was thinking it was a Readied Action not an AoO, in that case I agree with everyone here.


Adjoint wrote:

We have

Quote:

Take 5-Foot Step

You can move 5 feet in any round when you don’t perform any other kind of movement. Taking this 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity. You can’t take more than one 5-foot step in a round, and you can’t take a 5-foot step in the same round that you move any distance.

You can take a 5-foot step before, during, or after your other actions in the round.

You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn’t hampered by difficult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can’t take a 5-foot step, since moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature.

You may not take a 5-foot step using a form of movement for which you do not have a listed speed.

It's nowhere said that I have to make the 5-feet step on my turn, though the limitation of it having to be next or during another action makes it easiest to make during my turn. There's also an explicit rule that it can be used as a part of a readied action. But can it be used after an attack of opportunity? (Assuming I haven't moved in the same round yet, etc.)

I think it is pretty clear it is on your turn. "in the round" is referring to your turn, not the whole round of initiative of everyone's turns.

However, you may want to look at Combat Patrol:

Quote:
Benefit: As a full-round action, you may set up a combat patrol, increasing your threatened area by 5 feet for every 5 points of your base attack bonus. Until the beginning of your next turn, you may make attacks of opportunity against any opponent in this threatened area that provokes attacks of opportunity. You may move as part of these attacks, provided your total movement before your next turn does not exceed your speed. Any movement you make provokes attacks of opportunity as normal.

/cevah

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Attack of Opportunity + 5-foot step All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.