Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Alien Archive: NPC Grenade DC


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I know from the CRB p. 183 that Grenade DC is

DC = 10 + 1/2 Grenade item level + attacker Dex Mod (ignoring penalties).

But looking through Alien Archive example NPCs the Grenade DCs are all over the board, and don't seem to be related to that formula. I thought then they must be related to the Ability DCs listed in tables 1, 3, and 5. But they don't seem to be related to those, in any way I can determine.

For example take the Nuar Specialist on p.86 of AA. It has a frag grenade III DC of 18.
A frag grenade III is item level of 8. The Dex mod is +0 The CRB would have

DC = 10 + 1/2 8 + 0 = 14

Table 3 for Experts of CR 8 have Ability DC of 18.

Ok, I thought, just use the Ability DC for Grenades. But that doesn't seem to hold.

Aeon Guard (CR 3) p. 6 of AA

Grenade DC of 14, regardless of Grenade level. But Table 1 has Ability DC of 12. The NPC has a Dex mod of +4, so that can't be it.

How does one determine the Grenade DCs for NPCs?


Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Incorrectly would be my guess. I cannot discern any consistent pattern here.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Looking at the chart, it appears to be the same way they determine other NPC Save DCs. By the chart (or within a point of that in one or two cases). Which makes perfect sense given how NPCs work (ie: their stats never effect Save DCs).

The only exception to this is the Aeon Soldier...which is clearly and objectively built wrong in at least one other way already (AC, to be specific).


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Deadmanwalking wrote:
Looking at the chart, it appears to be the same way they determine other NPC Save DCs. By the chart (or within a point of that in one or two cases). Which makes perfect sense given how NPCs work (ie: their stats never effect Save DCs).

So the Item Level of the grenade does not enter into it. I can sort of see why.

Thanks

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Starfinder® / Rules Questions / Alien Archive: NPC Grenade DC All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.