Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

Spell Scars (Ex) provoke AoO?


Rules Questions


Does casting a spell via Spell Scars provoke an AoO despite the fact thats it an Extraordinary Ability?

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Roleplaying Guild, Tales Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber

It says it functions as using a scroll and activating a scroll provokes an AoO, it doesn’t really have anything to do with being an Ex or Su ability.


(Ex) abilities specifically say they does not provoke attacks of opportunity when used. Additionally they can be used in an AMF and cant be dispelled. So then what benefits does Spell Scars have from being an (Ex) ability instead of a (Su) or even (Sp)?


I think it means the scars and the ability to make the scar tattoos is Ex but the casting is spell completion. Therefore it would provoke.


Specific overrides general. As Rysky ince this particular extraordinary ability says it functions "exactly like casting from a scroll", it provokes.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Spell Scars (Ex) provoke AoO? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.