How do you "invest" an item? Is it something all characters can do?


Rules Discussion


I'm new to Pathfinder, working my way through the rulebook, and I'm trying to wrap my head around item investiture. My CRB says on page 531 that "Certain magic items convey their magical benefits only when worn and invested using the Invest an Item activity." Can all characters do that? Is an "activity" a term I should be aware of?
Thanks!

Sczarni

Activities are huge in Pathfinder 2.

If you're reading through the book now, you'll eventually come across it. You can also search the official SRD, archivesofnethys.com

Investing is something everyone does at the beginning of every day and lasts 24 hours.


Yeah, anyone can Invest an Item.

An activity is an action that takes more than one action to complete - some take two or three actions; some take minutes, hours, or days.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Invest an Item wrote:

Source Core Rulebook pg. 531 1.1

You invest your energy in an item with the invested trait as you don it. This process requires 1 or more Interact actions, usually taking the same amount of time it takes to don the item. Once you’ve Invested the Item, you benefit from its constant magical abilities as long as you meet its other requirements (for most invested items, the only other requirement is that you must be wearing the item). This investiture lasts until you remove the item.

You can invest no more than 10 items per day. If you remove an invested item, it loses its investiture. The item still counts against your daily limit after it loses its investiture. You reset the limit during your daily preparations, at which point you Invest your Items anew. If you’re still wearing items you had invested the previous day, you can typically keep them invested on the new day, but they still count against your limit.


in PF 2e you have to invest on all your magical items you plan to use for today.
You do it every day during daily preparation. Normal limit of invested items is 10, though you can extend it to 12 via feat.

That is alternative meaning on early experimentation on how limit magic items usage. And honestly a better one.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yeah, the original idea during the play test was... not good, to put it nicely.


Nocte ex Mortis wrote:
Yeah, the original idea during the play test was... not good, to put it nicely.

The idea wasn't bad; the implemetation on the other hand could best be described as "train wreck".

_
glass.


glass wrote:
Nocte ex Mortis wrote:
Yeah, the original idea during the play test was... not good, to put it nicely.

The idea wasn't bad; the implemetation on the other hand could best be described as "train wreck".

_
glass.

I'm just assuming there was a bitter, scorched-earth argument over someone wanting to strap on their eleventh magical item in the middle of a battle, and this set of rules is the solution everyone could live with. Good enough for me!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / How do you "invest" an item? Is it something all characters can do? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion