Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

Can we use Power Attack feat with a Meiciful weapon?


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

This might be a stupid question, but Power Attack feat says Touch Attacks or effects that do not deal hit point damage could not use this feat. Thus, Is Nonlethal Damage from Merciful weapon such a “effect” that could not use this feat or a “attack” that could use this feat although it does not deal hit point damage?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Nonlethal damage is HP damage that can just doesn't kill the target therefore, power attack works for merciful weapons, normally nonlethal weapons, and blunt weapons effected by the bludgeoner feat, as does piranha strike for light weapons under the same circumstances.

Silver Crusade

Jae Wolftail wrote:
Nonlethal damage is HP damage that can just doesn't kill the target therefore, power attack works for merciful weapons, normally nonlethal weapons, and blunt weapons effected by the bludgeoner feat, as does piranha strike for light weapons under the same circumstances.

When you take nonlethal damage, keep a running total of how much you’ve accumulated. Do not deduct the nonlethal damage number from your current hit points. It is not “real” damage. Instead, when your nonlethal damage equals your current hit points, you’re staggered (see below), and when it exceeds your current hit points, you fall unconscious.

This is what is said in CRB which tells that Nonlethal damage is not HP damage


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It is still damage that is tied to your HP, and weapons with the Merciful property, or normal weapons used to deal nonlethal damage, still roll their regular damage dice.

That phrase about non hit point damage means you can't use it on attacks that cause, say, ability score damage or drain. Mostly that applies to monsters with special attacks.

Dark Archive

I've seen plenty of low level mooks outright killed by an overzealous PC dealing nonlethal damage (almost always because they thought the mook was tougher than he was), so nonlethal definitely affects hit points

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

It does affect hit-points...once you take nonlethal equal to your current total, nonlethal damage does hit point damage!

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2013 Top 8

KitsuneWarlock wrote:
It does affect hit-points...once you take nonlethal equal to your current total, nonlethal damage does hit point damage!

Max hit points, not current hit points.

PRD wrote:
If a creature's nonlethal damage is equal to his total maximum hit points (not his current hit points), all further nonlethal damage is treated as lethal damage.

Scarab Sages

Michael Eshleman wrote:
KitsuneWarlock wrote:
It does affect hit-points...once you take nonlethal equal to your current total, nonlethal damage does hit point damage!

Max hit points, not current hit points.

PRD wrote:
If a creature's nonlethal damage is equal to his total maximum hit points (not his current hit points), all further nonlethal damage is treated as lethal damage.

Correct. To kill someone with non-lethal you essentially have to do double their hit points plus their constitution score. (that is assuming there is no other lethal damage.)

Sczarni

4 people marked this as a favorite.
Starfinder Charter Superscriber

If nonlethal wasn't classified as "damage" it would become the easiest way to bypass DR.

"How'd you defeat the Tarrasque?"

"Bludgeoned it with a sap."

Paizo Employee Customer Service Representative

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I have moved this thread to the Rules forum.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Can we use Power Attack feat with a Meiciful weapon? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.