Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Close location when a henchman from the box was shuffled in?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Hey guys, sorry if this question has been asked before, but I couldn't find anything on it in the forums. If you are directed by a card, location, or scenario rule to shuffle a henchman into a location deck from the box and you defeat that henchman before the henchman normally associated with the scenario, can you still close the location?

I.e.: Shuffling Cultists of Baphomet into a random location deck in "Lair of the Vile and Vicious" (WotR)?

How does this work for scenarios like "Traitor's Lodge"? Say I elect to shuffle a Wight from one location into another location for the extra loot. If I run into any Wight in that location deck, do I get to close the location? Does this work for a henchman that does not have multiples in the same scenario?

And while I'm asking, I wanted to squeeze one more in I'm unsure of: when you add a die to a roll (playing a blessing etc.) do you just add the base die or do you add the Skill and any Skill feats you have taken to the roll?

I.e.: Alain plays a lance and gets 1d10+2 for Melee and then gets 1d8 from the lance. If a blessing is played, does he get 1d10 or 1d10+2 again?

Thanks for any help!


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Hi,

1) Cards have no memory. So if you legitimely add an henchman to a location (whatever the reason), and that henchman has the sentence "if defeated, you may [attempt to] close the location it came from"; then indeed you can.

However be careful. If you get for example to summon an henchman from the box and encounter it, whether you defeat it or not, it will return to the box and not in the location you are at.

Indeed there are many scenarios that on purpose add or move around henchmen that allow to try to close.

2) You only add the die (i. e. +1d10 per blessing for Alain, even if his Strength is 1d10+3 and his Melee 1d10+3+2 for example).


Thanks so much for this! It was really helpful!

Also, I apologize but I'm actually playing a solo game now and ran across another question. Rather than start a new thread, I though I'd just ask it here. If you place a displayed card (such as a cohort) on top of your deck for an effect and play any card that has you recharge it for an effect during the same turn, what takes precedence? Do you recharge and shuffle first, then place your cohort on the deck or vice versa?

In my specific case, I'm playing a custom character that lets you place it on top of your deck to add a die to your check. I don't know if this situation is dependent on other factors or if it is always a set order, so I thought I'd throw that in there for future reference. Again, thanks so much!


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
ble.d_out.colo.r wrote:

Thanks so much for this! It was really helpful!

Also, I apologize but I'm actually playing a solo game now and ran across another question. Rather than start a new thread, I though I'd just ask it here. If you place a displayed card (such as a cohort) on top of your deck for an effect and play any card that has you recharge it for an effect during the same turn, what takes precedence? Do you recharge and shuffle first, then place your cohort on the deck or vice versa?

In my specific case, I'm playing a custom character that lets you place it on top of your deck to add a die to your check. I don't know if this situation is dependent on other factors or if it is always a set order, so I thought I'd throw that in there for future reference. Again, thanks so much!

Such a situation cannot come up, so there is no set order there. I direct you to the following rules:

MM rulebook, p8 wrote:
When a card has multiple powers, you must choose one of them, and you must do everything that power says when possible.
MM rulebook, p9 wrote:
If you are instructed to play, reveal, display, discard, recharge, bury, banish, or otherwise manipulate a card, that card must come from your hand unless otherwise specified.

So, you can only use one of the powers on the card when you play it, and if you are told to recharge, discard, etc. the card it must come from your hand unless the power specifies otherwise. For example, most cohorts specify otherwise by saying "While displayed, ...". Those powers can be used while the cohort is displayed.


Oh I'm sorry. I didn't explain well. The situation I'm referring to is this:

My cohort allows me to use my Divine die for my combat check and I may additionally place him on top of the deck to add another die to the check. I play the ally card "Apprentice" which lets you recharge the card to add 1d6 to your Arcane or Divine check. It's coming from two different cards, so I was wondering what the order would be here. I'm guessing you would place the cohort on top to start the check (it has to be a Divine check to allow Apprentice to be played in the first place) and then you play Apprentice, roll, and recharge, therefore losing your cohort until you can redraw it. Do I have that right?

I've had other situations where I played a story cohort (or Donahan; he's really bad for this) that went on top of the deck, and on the same check played a recharge card, so I wanted to make sure I was doing this correctly. I'm not sure, for example, what order the cards resolve in when you play Lance + Donahan + Caravan Guard. They seem pretty simultaneous, so does it just depend on what order you "announce" them in?


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

"When a card has multiple powers, you must choose one of them, and you must do everything that power says when possible."

See also the rule at the back of the rulebook Finish One Thing Before You Start Something Else. So, the sequence depends on which was played first. In your case, the cohort is played first (during Determine Which Skill You're Using) and Apprentice is played afterwards (during Play Cards And Use Powers That Affect Your Check).


You can in general choose to play cards in any order you like.

However in your example you need to play the cohort first, because the check does not have the divine trait (allowing you to play the apprentice) until you do.

I think you're doing "recharge" wrong though. Recharge means put a card on the bottom of your deck. Putting a card on the bottom has no impact on which card is on the top.


Oh! I'm sorry. I thought recharge entailed shuffling your deck afterward! I'm very sorry about that. I learned the game using the mobile app and I always thought that the card was shuffled into the deck on such an instance. Thank you very much for this! It's all very useful information :).


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

I confirm: recharging a card does not shuffle the your deck.

It is important, especially for the purpose of healing.

Most healing effects (Cure spell, Healing potion...) allow you to SHUFFLE cards in your deck. Shuffling is great especially if you just recharged a valuable card that you'd like to see coming back fast in your hand. So if you want to keep their own interests in the different notions of the game, make sure you do shuffle only when required. IMHO.

And as a consequence the order in which you play cards is of importance. AFAIK, the game is such that you never move two cards at the same time (for example, a power may say "recharge this card to recharge another card", there is always an implicit order within a power).

Depending whether you want to get a card back soon or later, indeed you may want to play shuffling powers before or after powers that put a card in a specific position (top, bottom...). This is true for your deck, locations decks,...


So you can choose not to shuffle and to simply recharge a card when casting spells like Cure? I thought it'd need to say "You may shuffle" in order let you to choose to simply recharge the cards to the bottom of your deck? I'm not very familiar with the game or verbiage yet though; I'm definitely not doubting you or suggesting you are wrong or anything.

If these cards do let you choose between recharging and shuffling, it's great to have some flexibility! Thanks for letting me know this! I must've missed some things in the rulebook. I admit that I gave it a glance over for the most part to learn the mythic and cohort rules and changes from RotR since I learned the basics with the app.

Edit: Sorry I think I misunderstood. Im guessing now that you meant Cure spells let you shuffle but do not allow for recharging, and you're saying to be careful when you use them to optimize benefit. Every other effect that says "recharge" just puts a card on bottom. I see now. Thanks for this!

I think maybe this is where I confused "shuffle" and "recharge" since I kind of saw recharging as synonymous with "healing". I understand the mechanics and strategies behind them much better now. :) I appreciate everyone's help!


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

shuffle and recharge are two different things. You must shuffle if it tells you to shuffle, you must put it on the bottom of your deck (and NOT shuffle) if it tells you to recharge. You do not get to choose, absent some other power that lets you do one instead of the other. For example, Lem in Skull & Shackles has the ability to optionally shuffle instead of recharging.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Close location when a henchman from the box was shuffled in? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.