Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Emblem of Greed Familiar


Rules Questions


If i polymorph my familiar into humanoid shape, give it a weapon and cast "Emblem of Greed" on its weapon using deliver touch spells, is the familiar able to use the weapon and does its base attack bonus change while wielding the weapon?

Similarly, if I hold the weapon, does my familiar's base attack bonus become my new base attack bonus?


1. When you deliver a touch spell via your familiar (share spells aside, since this spell isn't compatible with it), you are still the caster. All of the parts of the spell that say "you" refer to you, not your familiar. The weapon would become a +1 flaming glaive (or whatever) appropriately sized for you; you would be proficient with it; and you would get to use your caster level as your base attack bonus when wielding the weapon. Your familiar would only get the benefits that don't apply specifically to "you"--namely the use of a +1 flaming glaive (or whatever). Your familiar would use its base attack bonus, and if your familiar is not proficient in the use of glaives, it would take the usual nonproficiency penalty.

2. When you hold the weapon, you use your caster level as your base attack bonus. Your familiar's base attack bonus doesn't come into play at all unless it's the one attacking.

Hope this helps!


It does, thank you!

Just to clarify, in regard to "2", while I wield the weapon in my turn, would any attacks my familiar makes be done at my new BAB, or would its BAB still be based on my classes BAB?

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Emblem of Greed Familiar All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.