Season 9 changes: Raise dead now more available


Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild

Shadow Lodge *****

4 people marked this as a favorite.

New for this year:

*You can buy raise dead using 16 PP, 5,450 gp, or 8 PP and
2,450 gp.

People didn't seem to know about this, trying to get it out there because level 2-3 characters getting raises is amazing.

Anyone else see any changes in the guide?

Scarab Sages

BigNorseWolf wrote:

*You can buy raise dead using 16 PP, 5,450 gp, or??? 8 PP and 2,450 gp.

Waaait...what good is the former price tag, then?

Are they just universalizing the Risen Guard award? If so, what becomes of the original Osirion/Scarab Sages version, and those PCs who have already received that 'treatment?'

Grand Lodge ****

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Doesn't 8 PP equate to 3000 gp, making the latter two options equal in cost? Yes, we can now split them between gold and PP, which helps lower level characters.

*****

BigNorseWolf wrote:

New for this year:

*You can buy raise dead using 16 PP, 5,450 gp, or 8 PP and
2,450 gp.

People didn't seem to know about this, trying to get it out there because level 2-3 characters getting raises is amazing.

Anyone else see any changes in the guide?

Oddly, if your pregen dies you can split the cost of resurrection and true resurrection as well but the footnote for the regular casting purchase limits it to raise dead.

Scarab Sages

Okay, NOW I get it. Misinterpreted BigNorseWolf's original post. Not sure why I did that.

Liberty's Edge *****

Yeah, I had to read it twice to figure it out too.

Splitting PP and money costs in half is nice. Does make it possible to raise your 3rd or 4th level character without feeling horribly guilty about how much money all the rest of the group just spent on your character....

Shadow Lodge *****

Starglim wrote:
Doesn't 8 PP equate to 3000 gp, making the latter two options equal in cost? Yes, we can now split them between gold and PP, which helps lower level characters.

At the high end of possible conversions yes.

Grand Lodge ***** Venture-Captain, Arizona—Phoenix aka TriOmegaZero

A tad bit late for our Before the Dawn TPK, but better now than never! (Also, totally got to pay for TWO characters raises with my 4th level vigilante. So yeah.)

Shadow Lodge *****

Better late than.. late?

*deducts 50 experience from himself*

The Exchange ***** RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

Just checking: if a 2nd-level PC gets a raise dead in PFS, what are the ramifications? How fast do the restorations need to come, for the character to avoid dying to the negative levels?

And, I hope I'm not harping on an issue, but I've never gotten a good answer: if a player of a 2nd-level character is running a pre-gen who dies but is raised during the adventure, and the experience for the adventure is assigned to the 2nd-level character, what are the ramifications for the PC?

*

Well, in that case the character's wave-form goes into a state of flux, where they are neither dead nor alive but also not undead, until the wave-form collapses at the next time the player uses that character?

Shadow Lodge **

4 people marked this as a favorite.
Chris Mortika wrote:
Just checking: if a 2nd-level PC gets a raise dead in PFS, what are the ramifications? How fast do the restorations need to come, for the character to avoid dying to the negative levels?

This apparently hasn't been updated in the PRD, but according to the sixth printing of the CRB:

Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook wrote:
The subject of the spell gains two permanent negative levels when it is raised, just as if it had been hit by an energy-draining creature. Negative levels equal to or greater than the creature’s Hit Dice are instead applied as Constitution drain (if this would reduce its Con to 0 or less, it can’t be raised).

The second-level raise dead gap was patched out of the system; the character would gain one permanent negative level and one point of Constitution drain.

I've only got PDF copies of the second, fifth, and sixth printings of the CRB (should probably get around to cleaning up my downloads folder), but the original version of the spell appears in the second printing, but has changed by the fifth printing. The change doesn't appear in the errata documents that update any of the previous editions to the current printing (which is probably why the PRD hasn't been updated with this change), so I can't narrow down when it changed any further than that.

Sovereign Court **** Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden aka Ascalaphus

I remember that being discussed, didn't know it'd been patched.

Good news on both counts then.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild / Season 9 changes: Raise dead now more available All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.