Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Tiny damage


Rules Questions


What damage does a tiny sized blowgun deal?


According to the weapon chart 1d2 damage goes to a "-" for tiny creatures so it would not do any damage at all.


1 point. It's the minimum, so any blowgun up to Small size does a single point of damage.


VRMH wrote:
1 point. It's the minimum, so any blowgun up to Small size does a single point of damage.

If that were true, there wouldn't be a dash on the table. There would be a 1.

A Tiny sized blowgun deals no damage.


Jeraa wrote:
VRMH wrote:
1 point. It's the minimum, so any blowgun up to Small size does a single point of damage.

If that were true, there wouldn't be a dash on the table. There would be a 1.

A Tiny sized blowgun deals no damage.

Are you sure it can be reduced below 1? "Little startones" for example are damage 1 for medium creatures and when reduced become damage 1 for small creatures. (on the table i'm looking at)

Is it possible that the "-" was to avoid confusion with backwards compatibility on the size change table? (translating from tiny to bigger, for example)


Morbid Eels wrote:
Jeraa wrote:
VRMH wrote:
1 point. It's the minimum, so any blowgun up to Small size does a single point of damage.

If that were true, there wouldn't be a dash on the table. There would be a 1.

A Tiny sized blowgun deals no damage.

Are you sure it can be reduced below 1? "Little startones" for example are damage 1 for medium creatures and when reduced become damage 1 for small creatures. (on the table i'm looking at)

Is it possible that the "-" was to avoid confusion with backwards compatibility on the size change table? (translating from tiny to bigger, for example)

There is nothing in the rules about weapon size & damage that indicates there is any sort of a minimum.

The only rule regarding minimum damage only applies when penalties reduce the damage to 0 or lower. There are no penalties in this case, so that rule doesn't apply.


Morbid Eels wrote:
Jeraa wrote:
VRMH wrote:
1 point. It's the minimum, so any blowgun up to Small size does a single point of damage.

If that were true, there wouldn't be a dash on the table. There would be a 1.

A Tiny sized blowgun deals no damage.

Are you sure it can be reduced below 1? "Little startones" for example are damage 1 for medium creatures and when reduced become damage 1 for small creatures. (on the table i'm looking at)

Is it possible that the "-" was to avoid confusion with backwards compatibility on the size change table? (translating from tiny to bigger, for example)

Yes, it is no damage.

1d3 is reduced to 1 when going from medium to tiny so if 1d2 was also a 1 they could have put a 1, not a dash.

Also the base comparison is for medium sized creatures to tiny and large size.

The text even says:

Quote:
Dmg: These columns give the damage dealt by the weapon on a successful hit. The column labeled "Dmg (S)" is for Small weapons. The column labeled "Dmg (M)" is for Medium weapons. If two damage ranges are given, then the weapon is a double weapon. Use the second damage figure given for the double weapon's extra attack. Table: Tiny and Large Weapon Damage gives weapon damage values for Tiny and Large weapons.

As for starstones going to a small creature is not the same as going to a tiny one. That chart is also there to compare other sizes to medium sized creatures since that is the normal size, outside of small, for PC races.

Dashes used throughout the entire book has always basically meant "nonexistent". It works that way for prices, weight, ability scores, and spells available also.


I see, thank you.

Can such weapons still deal sneak attack damage, even though the weapon itself deals no damage?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Morbid Eels wrote:

I see, thank you.

Can such weapons still deal sneak attack damage, even though the weapon itself deals no damage?

Jason Bulmahn had this to say:

Quote:

DR does not negate sneak attack damage. The sneak attack damage is not a special effect that accompanies the attack, it is part of the damage roll.

Hope that clears it up.

Bolded for emphasis. The weapon in question doesn't deal damage, so there is no damage roll to be part of. If the weapon instead said "0" instead of "-", then sneak attack damage (and any other additional damage, like strength bonus or flaming weapons) would apply. But it doesn't.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Just to clarify something... If penalties would put the total to 0 or less, the damage is instead changed to 1 non-lethal.


thaX wrote:

Just to clarify something... If penalties would put the total to 0 or less, the damage is instead changed to 1 non-lethal.

Correct. But there are no penalties in this case - just a smaller damage die. Or in this case, a non-existant damage die.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Tiny damage All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.