Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

List of Classes and Archetypes that Stack with Fighter


Advice

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

If it stacks with fighter for Weapon Training, the level at which "Fighter Level Nth" feats may be taken, or some other useful goody, add it to the list.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Brawler: ...a brawler's levels are treated as fighter levels for feat acquisition from 1st, and he is both "fighter" and "monk" for items that trigger off class.

Monk [Martial Artist]: "At 4th level, a martial artist may use his monk level to qualify for feats with a fighter level prerequisite when those feats are applied to unarmed strikes or weapons with the monk special quality."

Monk [Sohei]: Receive Weapon Training at 6th level, and upgrades it every six levels thereafter. (Fighter and Sohei levels do not stack for Weapon Training, and Sohei cannot take fighter-prerequisite feats.)

Samurai: From 3rd onward, samurai levels count as fighter levels and stack. (The text doesn't specify what for, but since the classes have no named abilities in common, the only thing left that it could logically apply to would be feats.)

Swashbuckler: "Swashbuckler levels are considered fighter levels for the purpose of meeting combat feat prerequisites." (This line of text appears in the Swashbuckler section for Bonus Feats, of which they receive their first at 4th, but it does not appear that they are required to confine themselves to their Bonus Feat slots.)

Warpriest: "(F)or the purposes of these feats..." (i.e., Warpriest Bonus Feats), "...the warpriest can select feats that have a minimum number of fighter levels as a prerequisite, treating his warpriest level as his fighter level." (Warpriests also treat their class level as BAB level when taking Bonus Feats.) The classes do not otherwise stack, and warpriest PCs may not take fighter-prerequisite feats in their general feat slots.


Magus: From 10th level they count half their levels as fighter levels for the purpose of feat prereqs. Explicitly stacks with fighter levels.

Magus (Myrmidiarch): From 7th-9th level they count their level-3 as fighter levels for feat prereqs, From 10th level they count their full level as fighter levels for same. Weapon training 1 at 6th, 2 at 12th, 3 at 18th. Armor training 1 at 8th, 2 at 14th.

Cleric (of the god Gorum): can take the Ironbound Master feat to get Armor Training as a fighter of their level-3.

Gunslinger (Gun Tank): Armor training 1 at 4th, 2 at 8th, 3 at 12th, 4 at 16th.

Bloodrager (Steelblood): Armor training 1 at 5th, 2 at 9th, 3 at 13th, 4 at 17th.

Cavalier (Disciple of the Pike): Weapon training as a fighter, though only with spears or polearms.

Vigilante (Masked Maiden): Armor training and armor mastery as a fighter.

Edit: & Molthuni Arsenal Chaplain Warpriests famously (among optimisers) get weapon training as a fighter.


Sir Thugsalot wrote:

{. . .}

Monk [Sohei]: Receive Weapon Training at 6th level, and upgrades it every six levels thereafter. (Fighter and Sohei levels do not stack for Weapon Training, and Sohei cannot take fighter-prerequisite feats.)
{. . .}

I see that Sohei Monks get no Fighter Training, but are you sure the Weapon Training ranks do not stack? Weapon Training ranks (not levels) from other sources (such as Fighter with Myrmidarch Magus) do stack (FAQ).

Oh, and while we're at it, Molthuni Arsenal Chaplain Warpriest gets Weapon Training, although it's hard to figure out how to stack this one with Fighter Weapon Training even if you wanted that to work, since it works with Sacred Weapons instead of Weapon Groups.


Heritor Knight (prc) Stacks with existing weapons training

Shadow Lodge

UnArcaneElection wrote:
...are you sure (Sohei) Weapon Training ranks do not stack? Weapon Training ranks (not levels) from other sources (such as Fighter with Myrmidarch Magus) do stack (FAQ).

You'd think so, RAI-wise, but Sohei aren't mentioned (and the very next entry in the Ultimate Combat FAQ, concerning Sohei, would have been an ideal spot to revisit/revise Myrmidarch's Weapon Training entry sitting an inch away, but Paizo demured.

Straight skinny: a GM could lay down RAW and say "No."

(I don't think it matters much, however, seeing as every single Sohei/fighter multiclass build that I've seen or heard of uses their fighter WT to take a different weapon group rather than advance the Sohei one, or vice-versa.)


Well, it doesn't exactly say it doesn't, and one might take the Myrmidarch ruling to be a general rule about weapon training, instead of a specific rule about the archetype.

It's arguable either way, I grant you that.

Unrelated, the Sanguine Angel PRC is freaking awesome, and allows you to choose to progress Weapon Training twice, but only for the heavy blades group.

Notably, it also allows strength to hit with bows, and you can use the new weapon modifications to make your bow and shield fit in that weapon group. It's super cheesy, but cool.

Shadow Lodge

Ierox wrote:
Well, it doesn't exactly say it doesn't...

It also doesn't exactly say that each new level doesn't come with a free strawberry cheesecake from the corner bakery, so you should get one, right?

"If wishes were fishes..."

But let's leave arguments about RAW for other threads (and there are plenty of 'em).


Sir Thugsalot wrote:
UnArcaneElection wrote:
...are you sure (Sohei) Weapon Training ranks do not stack? Weapon Training ranks (not levels) from other sources (such as Fighter with Myrmidarch Magus) do stack (FAQ).

You'd think so, RAI-wise, but Sohei aren't mentioned (and the very next entry in the Ultimate Combat FAQ, concerning Sohei, would have been an ideal spot to revisit/revise Myrmidarch's Weapon Training entry sitting an inch away, but Paizo demured.

Straight skinny: a GM could lay down RAW and say "No."

(I don't think it matters much, however, seeing as every single Sohei/fighter multiclass build that I've seen or heard of uses their fighter WT to take a different weapon group rather than advance the Sohei one, or vice-versa.)

Since the Sohei Monk's Weapon Training explicitly works like the Fighter's Weapon Training except for having a more restricted list of Weapon Groups (which is weird in not including the Close Weapon Group), you would likewise always either choose a Weapon Group or an Advanced Weapon Training option each time you gained a rank, and either way, the previous Weapon Group(s) that you chose would advance their bonuses by +1. The exception might be if you chose a Fighter Weapon Group that wasn't in the Sohei Weapon Group list.

Shadow Lodge

Sentinel (prc): stacks with fighter levels for feat acquisition.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Advice / List of Classes and Archetypes that Stack with Fighter All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.