Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game


Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Unarmed Strike + Spell-Like Ability = damage incorporeal?

Rules Questions

Hello everyone,

OK, let's say our hero is a monk 1/cleric 1, fighting an incorporeal critter. One of their cleric domain powers is Gentle Rest (Repose Domain): epose-domain/

This is a spell-like ability.

Three facts, then a question:

(1) We know that the hero can't hit the critter with a regular unarmed strike.

(2) We also know that our pious monk can use Gentle Rest (or any melee spell-like ability) against an incorporeal enemy: #TOC-Incorporeal-Ex-

(3) Lastly, we know that if we try to gently rest a critter, and miss, we can "hold the charge" and hit the critter in a later round with a regular old unarmed strike, and if it hits, it deals "normal damage" for the unarmed attack, and discharges the spell:

Now, the question: Would delivering an unarmed strike, when a charge is held, against an incorporeal being:

(a) Deal full unarmed strike damage, and discharge the spell-like ability?

(b) Deal half the unarmed strike damage (as if it were a magic attack), and discharge the spell-like ability?

(c) Only discharge the spell-like ability?

As always, thanks a ton for your help and time.


(c). Nothing changes about your unarmed strike, so you might as well just "touch" the thing. The only reason the spell-like ability works is because magic, and even that only has a 50% chance of working.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Unarmed Strike + Spell-Like Ability = damage incorporeal? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.