Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Paladin Hospitaler Archetype: Aura of Healing Clarification


Rules Questions


Every effect of the hospitaler paladin's Aura of Healing specifies that it affects allies within range. Almost every effect also specifies that it applies to the paladin themselves. The one that doesn't is the limitation on healing and additional saving throws. I'm inclined to think this means one of two things.

First, the omission was intentional, and the aura's limitation only applies to the paladin's allies, not to themselves. Second, the omission was accidental and the aura has the same limitations for the paladin.

I've been looking, but I can't find any errata or FAQ or anything that answers this question.


Core FAQ: You are your own ally (unless it would make no sense).


blahpers wrote:
Core FAQ: You are your own ally (unless it would make no sense).

Thank you. Based on the wording used, however, I'm still inclined to think that the limitation may not apply.

The two primary effects of the Aura specifically call out that they apply to the paladin, while the last bit about how they're limited does not. If the intent was to default to the intent of the referenced "your allies" wording, the parenthetical note would be completely redundant. This, of course, would fall under the "unless otherwise stated" bit of the FAQ.

The release dates for the FAQ entry and the book (APG) are quite close, which doesn't help matters much.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Paladin Hospitaler Archetype: Aura of Healing Clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.