Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

Bite with 1.5 STR even with manufacured Weapons?


Rules Questions


Hey,

i started to play in a pathfinder group and i realised that they plan to play very optimized characters. Unfortunately im quite new to pathfinder so i have still problems to think of an strong eidolon...
So my question is about the Bite-Evolution:
If i upgrade the Bite-attack to 1,5 Str-Mod, does this also apply if i attack with a manufactured weapon in the same round?

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Roleplaying Guild, Tales Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber

Yes, the Str is only 1.0 if you have more than 1 Natural Attack.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion, Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

You still have to follow the Universal Monster Rules for natural attacks:

Quote:
Creatures with natural attacks and attacks made with weapons can use both as part of a full attack action (although often a creature must forgo one natural attack for each weapon clutched in that limb, be it a claw, tentacle, or slam). Such creatures attack with their weapons normally but treat all of their available natural attacks as secondary attacks during that attack, regardless of the attack’s original type.

and

Quote:
Secondary attacks are made using the creature’s base attack bonus –5 and add only 1/2 the creature’s Strength bonus on damage rolls.

As soon as you add a manufactured weapon attack to your routine, it makes all the natural attacks much worse. Generally you either do one or the other.


Rysky wrote:
Yes, the Str is only 1.0 if you have more than 1 Natural Attack.

An eidolon can take the bite evolution a second time to have a x1.5 STR bite when used with other natural weapons.

Bite wrote:
If the eidolon already has a bite attack, this evolution allows it to deal 1-1/2 times its Strength modifier on damage rolls made with its bite.

The evolution assumes this is made as a primary attack, but makes no explicit statement.

Personally, I would rule it as only dealing x.5 when used as a secondary attack, following the general rules for secondary attacks.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Roleplaying Guild, Tales Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber

Oh.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Bite with 1.5 STR even with manufacured Weapons? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.