Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Channel Energy and Invisibility.


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Modules Subscriber

Firstly, Hail all! Long time no see!

Chapter 16 in Core rulebook says:

"Attacks: Some spell descriptions refer to attacking. All offensive combat actions, even those that don’t damage opponents, are considered attacks. Attempts to channel energy count as attacks if it would harm any creatures in the area. All spells that opponents resist with saving throws, that deal damage, or that otherwise harm or hamper subjects are attacks. Spells that summon monsters or other allies are not attacks because the spells themselves don’t harm anyone."

That explained, my question is:

If a invisible good cleric doesn't know that an undead creature is in the area, would he turn visible? If so, would he know that an undead creature is in the area?

And, the last two big questions: Does it make sense? How to explain it?

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

If you're Channeling to harm, it counts as an attack, as you've bolded.

If you're Channeling to heal, it doesn't count as an attack, so you're fine.


+1 t Nefreet. In Pathfinder a cleric has to purposefully decide whether they want to channel to harm or heal, you don't get to do both at once.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Modules Subscriber

You are right, i feel stupid now, I've always used it wrong! Well, thanks!


I think it was both in the Alpha, so don't feel bad.


I could have sworn that some feat or prestige class lets you Channel to Heal Living and Harm Undead at the same time. This is not the same as, but complementary to the feat Versatile Channeler (lets you Channel Negative and Positive at the same time) and some Endowments of the Envoy of Balance (improves upon Versatile Channeler).


Fiendish Vessel cleric archetype has Channel Evil class feature which heals evil creatures and harms good creatures at the same time.


^Which, by the way, is a souped-up version of the way Alignment Channel should work (should let you heal your chosen alignment or hurt the opposite -- instead, it lets you heal or harm your chosen alignment . . . whuuuuuut?).


also note selective channeling requires you to target people you don't want to be affected and you cannot target things you cannot see so if people are invisible when you channel your healing them which is another thing no one seems to play correctly :(

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Channel Energy and Invisibility. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.