Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Can an arcane spellcaster learn an arcane spell from a scroll written by a divine spellcaster?


Rules Questions


One of our clerics has a domain that grants her domain spells that are normally limited to arcane spellcasters. She also has the Scribe Scroll feat.

If she scribes a scroll for one of her domain spells (in this case, teleport), and then gives the scroll to the party Magus, can the Magus learn the arcane version of the spell from the scroll?


You need to be a divine spellcaster to cast the spell from a divine scroll, but there is no such requirement in order to learn the spell from it. It's a weird edge-case.


As far as I understand there is no issue so long as the spell is on the respective caster list.


The spell has to be on his spell list.

As an example if a cleric with the fire domain makes a scroll of fireball, the wizard can learn it because fireball is on the wizard's list.


That is so weird. Ok, thanks folks.


If they couldn't Void wizards would have trouble. They are able to cast guidance (cantrip), keen senses (lvl 1) and whirlwind (lvl 8) which aren't normally on their spell list.


Quote:
No matter what the spell’s source, the wizard must first decipher the magical writing (see Arcane Magical Writings).
Quote:

To record an arcane spell in written form, a character uses complex notation that describes the magical forces involved in the spell. The writer uses the same system no matter what her native language or culture. However, each character uses the system in his own way. Another person’s magical writing remains incomprehensible to even the most powerful wizard until he takes time to study and decipher it.

To decipher an arcane magical writing (such as a single spell in another’s spellbook or on a scroll), a character must make a Spellcraft check (DC 20 + the spell’s level). If the skill check fails, the character cannot attempt to read that particular spell again until the next day. A read magic spell automatically deciphers magical writing without a skill check. If the person who created the magical writing is on hand to help the reader, success is also automatic.

Quote:
The spell must be of the correct type (arcane or divine). Arcane spellcasters (wizards, sorcerers, and bards) can only use scrolls containing arcane spells, and divine spellcasters (clerics, druids, paladins, and rangers) can only use scrolls containing divine spells. (The type of scroll a character creates is also determined by his class.)

The anwser depends on if scrolls containing "divine spells" are still "arcane writing".

Note that back in 3.5 this was clearly "no". In fact Artificer made scrolls were made neither arcane nor divine to prevent them from letting Wizards or Archivists fill their spell book with anything they wanted.


This would be one of the times I'd go with a UMD skill check along with a Spell Craft check, or just UMD if Read Magic is used. My reasoning is if you can make the check to use the scroll you can certainly scribe it then, but it does seem a gray area otherwise.


deuxhero wrote:


The anwser depends on if scrolls containing "divine spells" are still "arcane writing".

They are two separate things

PRD wrote:

Divine Magical Writings

Divine spells can be written and deciphered like arcane spells (see Arcane Magical Writings). A Spellcraft check can decipher divine magical writing and identify it. Only characters who have the spell (in its divine form) on their class spell list can cast a divine spell from a scroll.

So you need the spell on your class list in divine form to cast the spell from the scroll, but the rules say nothing about learning from the scroll. As I said originally, it's a weird edge case.


Then it's a clear "No, you can't".


No. Because it is a divine scroll and not an arcane scroll. Even if a wizard and a cleric have the same spell on their lists it is not written in the same "language." The one draws from divine sources, the other arcane. Rule: The spell must be of the correct type (arcane or divine). Arcane spellcasters (wizards, sorcerers, and bards) can only use scrolls containing arcane spells, and divine spellcasters (clerics, druids, paladins, and rangers) can only use scrolls containing divine spells.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Can an arcane spellcaster learn an arcane spell from a scroll written by a divine spellcaster? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.