Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Society


Starfinder


Starfinder Society

Invoker concentration checks


Advice


I am currently playing an Invoker in a group of two melees and two ranged characters including myself. Would anyone recommend Combat Casting? I'm not sure how required it would be since the Invoker does get:

Paradise: The invoker gains a +3 competence bonus on Acrobatics checks and concentration checks.

If you had the option of taking Combat Casting or Spell Focus which one would you suggest? Or neither? Or would you suggest both?


5ft step back and cast...if not Use a Hex that doesn't provoke.

Last ditch options:

Move, take the hit, and return fire with a spell to keep them down.


Louise Bishop wrote:

5ft step back and cast...if not Use a Hex that doesn't provoke.

Last ditch options:

Move, take the hit, and return fire with a spell to keep them down.

What if I am grappled via a web or a grab tentacle or entangled and glued to the ground.


Atalius wrote:
Louise Bishop wrote:

5ft step back and cast...if not Use a Hex that doesn't provoke.

Last ditch options:

Move, take the hit, and return fire with a spell to keep them down.

What if I am grappled via a web or a grab tentacle or entangled and glued to the ground.

sometimes that happens...your Hexes still work so just back up to that and hope your teammates can help you. It is a team game and if you have all the answers you will outshine people. Situations like that is a time for friends to shine.


Understood


Combat Casting won't help with those checks anyway.


Wasum wrote:
Combat Casting won't help with those checks anyway.

Against concentration checks to cast while grappled?


Yes


Wasum wrote:
Yes

Is that your final answer?

Grand Lodge

Quote:
You get a +4 bonus on concentration checks made to cast a spell or use a spell-like ability when casting on the defensive or while grappled.


I was wrong :(

Doesn't apply to entangle and other conditions though!


True, Combat Casting is annoyingly specific. : /

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Advice / Invoker concentration checks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2018 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.