Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Technomancer Spell cache


Rules Questions


Quote:
As the culmination of your early study of the fundamental forces of the galaxy, you have created a spell cache that allows you to store and access spells. Your spell cache could be a device like a handheld computer or technological implant: an item such as a ring or staff; or a symbol such as a brand, tattoo or other permanent modification to your body.

I'm having trouble understanding if the Spell cache is free or not. Since it seems to behave like the wizard's arcane bond I am under the impression that its also free. Lets say that I wanted to have a prosthetic arm as my cache (suboptimal, I know but it seems appropriate to my character idea.) do I have to subtract its value from my starting wealth?


Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I'd imagine that, if you want your spell cache to do things besides being a spell cache, you'd have to pay for the other item/functions.

Otherwise, some joker will say, "This battle cruiser is my spell cache".


Minor thread resuscitation (it seems recent enough to not be a thread necro :)

Any more thoughts on this now more people have seen the rules?


I think you have to pay for it, you just add the cache capacity to it for free. Arcane bonds weren't free in Pathfinder.


Yes they were.

Wizards who select a bonded object begin play with one at no cost. Objects that are the subject of an arcane bond must fall into one of the following categories: amulet, ring, staff, wand, or weapon. These objects are always masterwork quality.


Oh. Great, they aren't in Starfinder because they lack that language and giving away a free item without any limits would be horribly unbalanced. From an optimization standpoint I recommend a vostless tattoo rather than an item you might have to hold to use and that can be destroyed, at least until you can afford a Holographic Harrow Deck.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Starfinder® / Rules Questions / Technomancer Spell cache All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.