Revenant Armor and Possession


Rules Questions


If I have cast Revenant Armor on myself and then cast Possession, Object Possession, or any number of other possession like spells to have my soul leave my body, does the trigger for Revenant armor kick in to activate Revenant Armor? It would seem to me that it would, but since you aren't technically dead and your conscious is elsewhere, I'm not sure how some might interpret it.

Revenant Armor

Spoiler:
Source Armor Master's Handbook pg. 23
School transmutation; Level antipaladin 3, arcanist 4, cleric/oracle 4, magus 4, medium 4, occultist 4, paladin 3, shaman 3, sorcerer/wizard 4, spiritualist 3, warpriest 4, witch 3
Casting
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, F (one suit of armor)
Effect
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Target one suit of armor
Duration 1 day/level or 1 hour/level; see below
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no

This spell endows a suit of armor with a singular purpose realized only after its wearer goes unconscious or is killed; whenever the wearer of a suit of armor warded by revenant armor is brought below 0 hit points or otherwise rendered unconscious (but not paralyzed or held) in combat, the armor is immediately brought to life as a Medium animated object. This animated suit of armor still contains the unconscious (or dead) body of its former wearer and moves with a shambling gait at a speed of 20 feet. This animated object has average hit points and, if the armor is made from metal, it has the metal animated object extraordinary ability (plus additional abilities based on the type of metal, as indicated on page 14 of the Pathfinder RPG Bestiary). Once animated, the revenant armor remains standing (and stands if knocked prone, doing so without provoking attacks of opportunity), and prevents the wearer of the armor from being considered helpless. If an ally of the wearer is within range of the armor, she can direct it to move, though it refuses to go anywhere that requires a skill check. If grappled or otherwise restrained, it can attempt to break free with a Strength score equal to your caster level and a CMB equal to 1 + your caster level + the armor’s Strength modifier. If the armor’s wearer is reduced to dust, made conscious, or removed from the armor, the spell ends.

Possession:

Spoiler:
Source Occult Adventures pg. 180 (Amazon)
School necromancy; Level arcanist 5, medium 3, mesmerist 5, occultist 4, psychic 5, sorcerer/wizard 5, spiritualist 4, summoner 5, witch 5
Casting
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S
Effect
Range medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)
Target one creature
Duration 1 hour/level (D)
Saving Throw Will negates; Spell Resistance yes
Description
You attempt to possess a creature by projecting your soul into its body. The target creature must be within spell range and you must know where it is, though you do not need line of sight or line of effect to it. When you transfer your soul upon casting, your body appears to be dead. Failure to take over a host ends the spell.

If you are successful, your life force occupies the host body. The host’s soul is imprisoned with you, but can still use its own senses (though it can’t assert any influence or use even purely mental abilities). You can communicate telepathically with the host as if you shared a common language, but only with your consent. You keep your Intelligence, Wisdom, Charisma, level, class, base attack bonus, base save bonuses, alignment, and mental abilities. The body retains its Strength, Dexterity, Constitution, hit points, natural abilities, and automatic abilities. A body with extra limbs doesn’t allow you to make more attacks (or more advantageous two-weapon attacks) than normal. You can’t activate the body’s extraordinary or supernatural abilities, nor can you cast any of its spells or spell-like abilities.

As a standard action, you can shift freely back to your own body regardless of range, so long as it remains on the same plane. If the host’s body is killed, you return to your own body and the life force of the host departs (it is dead). If your body is slain, when the spell expires or the host’s body is killed, you are slain. It is possible to cast this spell on a new target from within another creature’s body; this resets the duration. You still return to your original body (not any intermediate body) when you take a standard action to do so or the spell’s duration expires. Returning to your body ends the spell. Creatures whose souls are their bodies, such as incorporeal undead and non-native outsiders, use the effects of greater possession instead.


Don't see why this would work:

Q1: Are you below 0 hit points? No. (Your body only appears to be dead).
Q2: Are you Unconscious? No.

Also: What does your group deem as 'you'? The spell indicates that 'the host's soul is imprisoned with you'... meaning that your body isn't you. As you're not wearing the armour any more, neither clause would then apply.


santherus wrote:

Don't see why this would work:

Q1: Are you below 0 hit points? No. (Your body only appears to be dead).
Q2: Are you Unconscious? No.

Also: What does your group deem as 'you'? The spell indicates that 'the host's soul is imprisoned with you'... meaning that your body isn't you. As you're not wearing the armour any more, neither clause would then apply.

I think the only reason I asked this question is because by any 'it looks like a duck...' definition, your body is for all intents and purposes unconscious (probably even an even greater degree since you even appear dead). I suppose if your spells are aware of you at all times it might not trigger, but the spell warding your body probably couldn't differentiate between you leaving due to another spell and your body getting knocked out from an opponent's spell.

I'm willing to concede it might not work, but I'm still interested to hear other opinions.

I'm less than concerned by the "is your body still you" argument. Your body is clearly still your body in the Possession spell. It's explicitly laid out that you can't return to anything but your body.


santherus wrote:

Don't see why this would work:

Q1: Are you below 0 hit points? No. (Your body only appears to be dead).
Q2: Are you Unconscious? No.

Also: What does your group deem as 'you'? The spell indicates that 'the host's soul is imprisoned with you'... meaning that your body isn't you. As you're not wearing the armour any more, neither clause would then apply.

yes he is unconscious since its soul is no longer there, and if you deem the you is your soul then being dead would not activate the armour since your soul is no longer in your body too, so i would say yes it activate the armour since you become unconscious

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Revenant Armor and Possession All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.