Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

The stat stacking FAQ


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

1) No. An ability bonus, such as "Strength bonus", is considered to be the same source for the purpose of bonuses from the same source not stacking.
<--- clear. No stacking

2) However, you can still add, for instance “a deflection bonus equal to your Charisma modifier” and your Charisma modifier.< --- clear. Stacking.

For this purpose, however, the paladin's untyped "bonus equal to her Charisma bonus (if any) on all saving throws" from divine grace is considered to be the same as "Charisma bonus (if any)", and the same would be true for any other untyped "bonus equal to her [ability score] bonus" constructions= Thats a no stacking clause, right? Bonus equal to charisma bonus is a charisma bonus.

Grand Lodge

That's how I and everyone else I've known has read the FAQ.

Quite a bummer for Paladins.


Yes, the FAQ says that un untyped bonus equal to charisma is just different wording that means it's a charisma bonus to X.


I would choose to err on the side of not being able to add a particular ability score mod to anything more than once, even if they are different types. I believe that to be the intent of the rule.

Grand Lodge

@Ciaran Not sure how you got that from it. The FAQ specifically says that they stack if they're different types of bonuses.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber, Campaign Setting, Companion, Maps, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Antipaladin death knights sure got the shaft. >:(

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / The stat stacking FAQ All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.