Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Question on augmenting cards - Deadly Dealer feat


Advice


So, I'm looking at the deadly dealer feat for a sorcerer (before it's asked, no I can't change class... I'd rather change weapons than class, it's a specific build). My problem is that, naturally, Arcane Strike and Deadly Dealer feat don't really add a whole lot to them. My question is if there's a way to either a) augment them from an outside source, so that them getting destroyed is irrelevant, or b) enchant them so that they aren't destroyed on impact. My GM wants at least SOME basis before he'll discuss it.


Debate rages over whether improvised weapons are weapons for the purpose of the masterwork quality or enchantment. As of yet there's no clear answer.

The deadly dealer feat states the following:

Deadly Dealer wrote:
Benefit(s): You can throw a card as though it were a dart, with the same damage, range, and other features. You must use the Arcane Strike feat when throwing a card in this way, or else the card lacks the magical force and precision to deal lethal damage. A card is destroyed when thrown in this way.

The text of the feat is explicitly clear that the ammunition is destroyed after being thrown, irregardless of whether it hits or not (unlike normal ammunition which has a 50% chance of survival after a miss).

Given that you're a sorcerer, you probably have better things to do with your standard action than throw cards anyway. I wouldn't recommend these feats unless you have no choice.

Alternatively, the Refine Improvised Weapon spell could transform a card into a throwing dagger, though it's doubtful it could affect a full deck. If you're looking to have the ability to roleplay your sorcerer pulling out a card and throwing it into a solid object using legal game mechanics, this is probably a better option than the deadly dealer feat.


Normal cards would not, no, however...

Quote:
Harrow cards are treated as masterwork weapons when thrown using this feat, but are still destroyed after they are thrown. A harrow deck can no longer be used as a fortune-telling device after even a single card is thrown.

There's precedence in the feat for at least a harrow deck being enchantable, since the feat treats them AS masterwork.


Might cost more to make a "masterwork harrow deck", but the precedence is there.


Only when they're thrown. They're not masterwork at any other time. And they're destroyed when they're thrown.


Only thing that occurs to me is VMC Magus and using arcane weapon to enchant the stack before throwing them.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Advice / Question on augmenting cards - Deadly Dealer feat All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.