Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Multiclassed Mutation Warrior / Mutagenic Mauler effective alchemist level?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

If a Fighter with the mutation warrior archetype multiclasses into Brawler with the mutagenic mauler archetype, are the levels in the two classes added together for determining effective alchemist level for the mutagen? Or are they separate abilities?

Mutation Warrior gets the following:
At 3rd level, a mutation warrior discovers how to create a mutagen that he can imbibe in order to heighten his physical prowess at the cost of his personality. This ability functions as the alchemist’s mutagen ability, using his fighter level as his alchemist level.

Mutagenic Mauler gets the following:
At 1st level, a mutagenic mauler discovers how to create a mutagen that she can imbibe in order to heighten her physical prowess, though at the cost of her personality. This functions as an alchemist’s mutagen and uses the brawler’s class level as her alchemist level for this ability (alchemist levels stack with brawler levels for determining the effect of this ability). A mutagenic mauler counts as an alchemist for the purpose of imbibing a mutagen prepared by someone else.


they are separate abilities since they don't say they stack.


Chess Pwn wrote:
they are separate abilities since they don't say they stack.

So could have two mutagens at a time then, assuming he spent two hours brewing? One brewed at his fighter level and the other at his brawler level? (I know you can't benefit from two simultaneously, but if one runs out its duration he could drink the other without spending an hour brewing a new one.)


Michael Haneline wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
they are separate abilities since they don't say they stack.
So could have two mutagens at a time then, assuming he spent two hours brewing? One brewed at his fighter level and the other at his brawler level? (I know you can't benefit from two simultaneously, but if one runs out its duration he could drink the other without spending an hour brewing a new one.)

That is correct.


DeathlessOne wrote:
Michael Haneline wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
they are separate abilities since they don't say they stack.
So could have two mutagens at a time then, assuming he spent two hours brewing? One brewed at his fighter level and the other at his brawler level? (I know you can't benefit from two simultaneously, but if one runs out its duration he could drink the other without spending an hour brewing a new one.)
That is correct.

Cool. In some ways that's actually kind of better.


So is there anyone that disagrees that this is how it works, or does it seem pretty clear cut? It is for a PFS character so I'm trying to gauge how much table variation I'll get.


I'd say it does stack as you do have effective class levels of alchemist, and the Mauler ability does state that these levels stack. Which would mean that you'd just increase the potency of the Mutagen as if a higher level and not have a second Mutagen. Expect lots of variation if you go this route though.


Michael Haneline wrote:
So is there anyone that disagrees that this is how it works, or does it seem pretty clear cut? It is for a PFS character so I'm trying to gauge how much table variation I'll get.

Just quoting an earlier thread I found.

OilHorse wrote:

My read on it:

Mutagen (Su): wrote:
At 1st level, a mutation warrior discovers how to create a mutagen that he can imbibe in order to heighten his physical prowess at the cost of his personality. This ability functions as the alchemist's mutagen ability. This ability replaces armor training 1.
Mutagen (Su): wrote:
At 1st level, a mutagenic mauler discovers how to create a mutagen that she can imbibe in order to heighten her physical prowess, though at the cost of her personality. This functions as an alchemist's mutagen and uses the brawler's class level as her alchemist level for this ability (alchemist levels stack with brawler levels for determining the effect of this ability). A mutagenic mauler counts as an alchemist for the purpose of imbibing a mutagen prepared by someone else.
I am fairly sure that the ACG is already known for poor editing. This is another example of it. The Brawler gets a more robust explanation of how it works than the Fighter does, but for the bold part they are supposed to be the same. These levels stack to determine effect.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Multiclassed Mutation Warrior / Mutagenic Mauler effective alchemist level? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.