Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Is Composite Longbow with STR regarded as magic item?


Rules Questions


I just start a new character with 900 gold . I purchased a composite longbow with strength rating as +3, but DM didn't allow it because he thought this is a magic item which requires "craft magic item" feat and at least 3*2 CL level to create.

Actually there are several questions here:

1. Could I buy any initial weapon (including magic item) as long as I have enough gold?
2. If answer for question 1 is no, could I buy any masterwork item or composite longbow with Str as long as I have enough gold while building a new character?
3. Is composite longbow with Str regarded as magic item indeed ? if it is not, could I buy it at any small town as long as I have enough gold? If it is a magic item, is there any restriction to buy it?
4. Could I buy and use any magic item even if I didn't have "craft magic item" feat ? Do I have to have some certain character levels to use some advanced magic item?


It is not magical because you are not getting a +1 composite longbow. Instead you are getting a Composite Longbow (+3 STR) which is still mundane. Be sure to get it masterwork though, because a non-masterwork weapon cannot become magical.

1) Yes, within reason. I don't know the ratios but you can't have a single item worth some % more than your max WBL

3) No.

4) Yes, craft magic item is just to create it. Not use it.


Thanks, btw: is masterwork regarded as magic item? I guess it is still mundane. DM said since you have to use magic to make non-masterwork into masterwork which means masterwork item is magic item.


Another question: Is Composite Longbow (+3str) have to be masterwork or is it possible to have a normal non-masterwork Composite Longbow with +3 str? I guess not but DM still insists...


Simic wrote:
Thanks, btw: is masterwork regarded as magic item? I guess it is still mundane. DM said since you have to use magic to make non-masterwork into masterwork which means masterwork item is magic item.

No, masterwork is not magic. And no, you do not need magic to make a masterwork item. A spell does exist to turn an existing non-masterwork item into a masterwork one, but that is only for already existing items. Making a masterwork item from scratch does not require any magic.

Quote:
Another question: Is Composite Longbow (+3str) have to be masterwork or is it possible to have a normal non-masterwork Composite Longbow with +3 str? I guess not but DM still insists...

No, it does not have to be masterwork. You can have a non-masterwork composite longbow with a strength rating of +3.


Masterwork, magic, and strength rating are all separate things. Special material too. You can have a bow that has only one of those things, or a bow with some or all of them if you like.


A composite bow is a matter of pull on the string. Has nothing to do with quality. More the materials and build of the bow are dofferent to allow a stronger man to pull it back, and use that to his advantage.

Masterwork is a matter of quality. But doesn't increase damage. Just makes it's exceptional and ready for magic. (And a bonus to hit).

That bonus to hit will not stack with the first enchantment of plus one. But that magical one will cut through a lot of damage resistance and have a bonus to attack and damage.


Thanks, now it's clear.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Simic wrote:
4. Could I buy and use any magic item even if I didn't have "craft magic item" feat ? Do I have to have some certain character levels to use some advanced magic item?

You do not need anything to use the basic functionality of magic weapons.

You may need to apply the use magic device skill, however, to use spell completion (such as a scroll) and/or spell trigger (such as a wand) items, which is a class dependent skill ability. I don't believe there are any weapons that have spell completion or spell trigger features, but I could be wrong.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Is Composite Longbow with STR regarded as magic item? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.