Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Summoning an Akata


Rules Questions


Quote:

Void Bite (Ex)

Akatas hold hundreds of invisibly small larval young within their mouths, spreading these parasitic creatures to hosts through their bite. Only humanoids make suitable hosts for akata young—all other creature types are immune to this parasitic infection. The disease itself is known as void death.

Disease (Ex)

Void Death: Bite—injury; save Fort DC 12; onset 1 hour; frequency 1/day; effect 1d2 Dex and 1d2 Con damage.

An infected creature who dies rises as a void zombie 2d4 hours later; cure 2 consecutive saves.

So a question about this creature. It is available to be summoned using Monster Summoning II, and only stays for 1 min per level. What about its bite? Could summoning this and it biting someone cause an outbreak where you summoned it? The parasites that are left behind are technically a disease so I can't think that would go away because the spell ends, just like poison doesn't cure itself if the monster you summoned goes away (does it?).

I was thinking this could be used as an interesting adventure hook for PCs where they inadvertently cause a swarm of these to spread around them.


I like you're thinking.

I always thought the Akata was cool yet underpowered (has untapped potential.)

The CRB artwork shows the tentacle-mane of the Akata should be an attack, as it shows an iconic grappled / entangled in the tentacles and being dragged away.

Yet the Bestiary entry for the Akata says nothing about this potential.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Roleplaying Guild, Tales Subscriber; Pathfinder Comics Subscriber

Note that if you're playing in Golarion, more specifically PFS, you can pick an Akata from Summon Monster II only if you worship Groetus.

D20 scrubs the relevant information but the source for it is Pathfinder 64, Beyond the Doomsday Door, in Groetus' Deity article.

Now that that's out of the way, the Akata does gain the Extraplanar Subtype, other than that it mentions nothing about the bite.


So Tieflings in a party should be on the front line when fighting these? These things are Nasty! The figure looks cool, but I just can't bring myself to throw some thing this evil at a party...

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Summoning an Akata All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.