Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Black Blood (Bloodrager Archetype) and Black Blooded Oracle


Rules Questions


I have a question about black blood and its effects on the Bloodrager versus its effects on the Oracle. What, if any, of the black blood effects listed on the Oracle are applicable to the Bloodrager?

For instance, on the Bloodrager archetype is only lists the following, "At 1st level, your blood runs thick with black blood. You are immune to the effects (both beneficial and destructive) of black blood. You have this benefit constantly, even while not bloodraging. When you take damage from a slashing or piercing attack while bloodraging, as an immediate action you can grant your melee attacks the frost weapon special ability for 2 rounds."
Black Blood Bloodrager Archetype

However, for the Oracle it lists this instead, "All black-blooded oracles effectively share the same curse—the curse of black blood. The material affects these oracles physically and mentally, altering both physiology and mystic powers. The blood of a black-blooded oracle actually runs black, and wounds she suffers are infected by her own power and are difficult to heal. She is immune to the effects (both beneficial and destructive) of black blood. Positive and negative energy affect a black-blooded oracle as if she were undead—positive energy harms her, while negative energy heals her (this aspect of the curse has no effect if the oracle is undead). The curse also dulls the oracle’s coordination somewhat, imparting a –4 penalty on all Dexterity-based skill checks. At 5th level, she gains cold resistance 5. This increases to cold resistance 10 at 10th level, and immunity to cold at 15th level."
Black-Blooded Oracle

So would a Black Blood Bloodrager archetype receive all the negatives that the Oracle receives or is the Bloodrager somehow immune or unaffected? I'm specifically asking about the -4 penalty on Dex-based skill checks and magic healing (positive hurts, negative heals).

Also, if the Bloodrager receives all these negatives then why doesn't the Black Blood Bloodrager receive the cold resistance sooner? The oracle gets it at level 5 while the Bloodrager receives it at level 8. It seems to me that if it's an all or nothing deal then the Bloodrager should receive the resistance sooner as well.

Super confused; please help.

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

They both use the same wording: "immune to the effects (both beneficial and destructive) of black blood".

As a multiclassed character you couldn't shore up the penalties of one with the other.


Sorry, I probably didn't word it correctly. I'm not necessarily trying to multiclass, I'm trying to figure out if there is a standardized ruling on what having black blood means. I've essentially seen three different examples on what black blood does: one for the bloodrager archetype, one for the oracle, and one for black blood monsters. If we're only expected to obey the ruling listed under the individual class or monster type that's fine, but I've seen in other locations on the forums where someone asked about black blood effects and they're pointed to the oracle as the definitive source for guidance.

Scarab Sages

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Subscriber

Oracle curses can only be overcome by the intervention of a deity. Any immunity that you gain from being a bloodrager would not apply to the oracle curse.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The Bloodrager's immunity applies to Black Blood as a liquid hazard. Not to the Oracle's curse, whatever the fluff seems to imply :-)


No one understands the question xD


1 person marked this as a favorite.

A class only receives the effects listed under itself, not other classes. The Bloodrager pays no attention to what is listed under Oracle.


MySinIsPride wrote:
Sorry, I probably didn't word it correctly. I'm not necessarily trying to multiclass, I'm trying to figure out if there is a standardized ruling on what having black blood means. I've essentially seen three different examples on what black blood does: one for the bloodrager archetype, one for the oracle, and one for black blood monsters. If we're only expected to obey the ruling listed under the individual class or monster type that's fine, but I've seen in other locations on the forums where someone asked about black blood effects and they're pointed to the oracle as the definitive source for guidance.

A problem with threads is that anyone who misreads the question has their misunderstanding re-enforced by other commenters who misread the question the same way. Perhaps if they had a reference Black Blood that was not an oracle nor bloodrager archetype, they would see that this is not a question about a multiclass oracle-bloodrager.

metatron has the answer:

metatron wrote:
A class only receives the effects listed under itself, not other classes. The Bloodrager pays no attention to what is listed under Oracle.

Black Blood appears to be a rare substance, so Pathfinder has no need for universal black blood rules. Each appearance of black blood is sufficient unto itself.

Sczarni

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Oh.

I read "What, if any, of the black blood effects listed on the Oracle are applicable to the Bloodrager?" to be a multiclassing question.


metatron wrote:
A class only receives the effects listed under itself, not other classes. The Bloodrager pays no attention to what is listed under Oracle.

Works for me. This is what I originally thought, but was probably overthinking it. I couldn’t wrap my head around why black blood would apply different effects to different classes or creatures and various searches for “black blood” just led me to be even more confused.

"Mathmuse” wrote:

A problem with threads is that anyone who misreads the question has their misunderstanding re-enforced by other commenters who misread the question the same way. Perhaps if they had a reference that was not an oracle nor bloodrager archetype, they would see that this is not a question about a multiclass oracle-bloodrager.

metatron has the answer

Yes, agreed, the original post should have been worded more precisely.

Nefreet wrote:

Oh.

I read "What, if any, of the black blood effects listed on the Oracle are applicable to the Bloodrager?" to be a multiclassing question.

That’s entirely my fault. It made sense in my head, but I failed at properly conveying it in text form.

Thanks to all for the assistance.

Scarab Sages

MySinIsPride wrote:
Sorry, I probably didn't word it correctly. I'm not necessarily trying to multiclass, I'm trying to figure out if there is a standardized ruling on what having black blood means.

You are confusing concepts. The Curse of Black Blood for the Oracle does one thing, the Bloodrager one does something else. There is also substance called black blood, but neither class actually generate it (yes, the blood becomes black, but this doesn't mean your blood is considered Black Blood).

Regarding the actual substance. In the book that includes the Black Blooded Oracle (Inner Sea Magic), there is a sidebar which explains what the substance does. Both classes are considered immune to this substance, both the negative and positive effects.

Looks like D20PFSRD includes a sidebar entry for it attached to the black blooded Oracle entry. Here

Quote:


Black Blood

Black blood repulses and freezes all natural life, although certain creatures like aberrations, undead, and black-blooded oracles possess an uncanny immunity to its effects. Any other creature that comes into contact with black blood takes 1d6 points of cold damage—10d6 points of cold damage per round if fully immersed.

Although black blood isn’t itself inherently evil, a pint of black blood can be used as unholy water. A spellcaster who consumes a dose of black blood casts all necromantic spells at +1 caster level for the next 10 minutes, but takes 3d6 points of cold damage and 1 point of Constitution damage by drinking the stuff. Normally, a dose of black blood becomes inert an hour after being harvested from the source, losing all mystical properties. Gentle repose can preserve up to 1 gallon of black blood’s magical properties for increased lengths of time, but no other method of stabilizing the stuff has yet been developed. The blood of a black-blooded oracle is diluted and does not have the properties of full-strength black blood.

So, the Black Blooded Oracle and the Bloodrager are immune to the caster level increase for necromatic spells, the 3d6 cold + 1 Con damage for drinking a dose, the 1d6 cold for coming in contact, and the 10d6 cold damage per round if fully immersed, and to unholy water uses of black blood.

That's all the immunity grants. Yeah, very minor unless black blood is a common thing in your campaign or setting.

Sczarni

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Starfinder Charter Superscriber

There is at least one PFS scenario with the stuff ^^.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Black Blood (Bloodrager Archetype) and Black Blooded Oracle All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.