Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Do I have to keep wearing my CELESTIAL SHIELD?


Rules Questions


Quote:

CELESTIAL ARMOR

Aura faint transmutation [good]; CL 5th
Slot armor; Price 22,400 gp; Weight 20 lbs.
DESCRIPTION

This bright silver or gold +3 chainmail is so fine and light that it can be worn under normal clothing without betraying its presence. It has a maximum Dexterity bonus of +8, an armor check penalty of –2, and an arcane spell failure chance of 15%. It is considered light armor and allows the wearer to use fly on command (as the spell) once per day.

Quote:

CELESTIAL SHIELD

Aura moderate evocation [good]; CL 7th
Slot shield; Price 13,170 gp; Weight 7 lbs.
DESCRIPTION

This bright silver or gold +2 blinding heavy steel shield is impossibly light and handy despite its size. It has no armor check penalty or arcane spell failure chance, and it allows the wielder to use feather fall on himself once per day. A creature wearing celestial armor while wielding a celestial shield may command the armor to provide overland flight rather than fly once per day.

Quote:

Magic Items, Wearers, and Durations: If a magic item grants an effect with a duration to the wearer, can I put it on, activate the effect, take it off, and keep the effect active?

No, as soon as you remove an item that grants an effect to the wearer, you are no longer the wearer, so any remaining duration immediately expires. The same is true if the item affects the owner, wielder, and so on. If the item's effect does not specify the recipient as the wearer (or owner, wielder, etc), then unless it says otherwise, it remains when the item is removed.

If I take off my shield, do I lose Overland Flight, or does the spell continue as long as I wear the armor (assuming duration of the spell hasn't expired, of course)?


It looks like the armor is providing the overland flight rather than the shield so you should be OK to remove the shield IMO.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

I'd use the FAQ on taking items off ends the spell effect, so take off the shield should end the fly to overland upgrade.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Try it while flying and ask your dm


James Risner wrote:
I'd use the FAQ on taking items off ends the spell effect, so take off the shield should end the fly to overland upgrade.

Yeah, that was obviously my concern. You don't think the shield's description that specifically mentions that the armor casts the spell affects it?

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber Subscriber

I agree with avr - from the wording, the shield simply powers up the armour's ability, but does so on activation. I'd be happy as a GM to let you remove the shield and keep overland flight going. YMMV.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Knight who says Meh wrote:
James Risner wrote:
I'd use the FAQ on taking items off ends the spell effect, so take off the shield should end the fly to overland upgrade.
Yeah, that was obviously my concern. You don't think the shield's description that specifically mentions that the armor casts the spell affects it?

It doesn't make any sense that an ongoing effect that could only be done if worn continues after it's off.


Having the Shield in hand simply allows you to command the Armor to produce a greater effect than it normally would, the armor is still technically the source of the ongoing effect... So putting away the shield afterwards shouldn't end the effect since the effect wasn't actually generated by the shield.
The shield is acting like an amplifier, or a key that unlocks the armor's full power.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Do I have to keep wearing my CELESTIAL SHIELD? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.