touching with natural reach


Rules Questions


Can a creature with a (secondary) Natural Attack that has a 10' reach deliver a Touch Spell at that range? I don't mean holding the charge and then making a Natural Attack; I mean in the usual touching-as-part-of-casting-a-spell way.

A specific example would be: a PC with the "Reaching Vines" fungal graft wanting to cast a Cure Light Wounds spell on an ally 10 feet away.


Yes, because, um, I suppose because No would be ridiculous? Is there something that makes you think it might not be possible?


Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Is there something that makes you think it might not be possible?

Natural Attacks are... well, attacks. It's a Standard Action in game terms, not an actual body part.

I agree it's a bit silly to deny Touch Attacks to specific parts of one's body just because they're used for a Natural Attack, but I can't find an explicit confirmation either way.

Grand Lodge

VRMH wrote:
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Is there something that makes you think it might not be possible?

Natural Attacks are... well, attacks. It's a Standard Action in game terms, not an actual body part.

I agree it's a bit silly to deny Touch Attacks to specific parts of one's body just because they're used for a Natural Attack, but I can't find an explicit confirmation either way.

So a draconic-blooded sorcerer wouldn't be able to deliver touch spells with her hands because she has claws and thus her hands have natural attacks?

(yes, obviously that's ridiculous)


"Holding the Charge: If you don’t discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren’t considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. -b]If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges.[/b] If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge."

One exception would be for a magus using spell combat as they need Natural Spell Combat for each natural attack.


Gallant Armor wrote:
a useful quote from the rules

And this is precisely the cause of my doubts: it's always a "Natural Attack" or "attack with a Natural Weapon". But I guess I was just too fixated on game terms to see the plain logical side of things: if you can attack with a part of your body, you can touch with it too.

Thank you all for the feedback. My next Druid just became a lot more Poison Ivy-esque.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / touching with natural reach All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.