Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Augment Summoning, Summoner's Call, and Summon Eidolon


Rules Questions


Can I use these 3 things together? I know enhancement bonuses don't stack, but that's an easy fix.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
Augment Summoning wrote:
Each creature you conjure with any summon spell gains a +4 enhancement bonus to Strength and Constitution for the duration of the spell that summoned it.
Summoner's Call wrote:
Whenever you summon your eidolon, you may give it a +2 enhancement bonus to its Strength, Dexterity, or Constitution. This bonus lasts 10 minutes after the summoning ritual is complete.
Summon Eidolon wrote:
You open a rift between dimensions that summons your eidolon. Treat this as if you had summoned your eidolon normally, except that it only remains with you for the duration of this spell.

So, first, Augment Summoning wants specifically a "summon spell". Summon Eidolon starts with the word summon and it says it summons, so it checks out.

Second, Summoner's Call kicks in whenever you summon your eidolon. It later references a summoning ritual, which would seem to limit it to the "traditional" summoning method... but Summon Eidolon says to treat it as if you summoned it normally. So it checks out.

End result: Your eidolon gets +4 Strength, +2 Dexterity, and +4 Constitution for up to ten minutes of the duration of Summon Eidolon, and the above bonuses sans the Dexterity for the remainder of the spell.


Thanks for the very helpful response.


Summoning the eidolon is a supernatural ability... and it is not subject to Augment Summoning.

Jason Bulmahn
Lead Designer
Paizo Publishing

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Spacelard wrote:

Summoning the eidolon is a supernatural ability... and it is not subject to Augment Summoning.

Jason Bulmahn
Lead Designer
Paizo Publishing

I think the 2nd level spell Summon Eidolon was referenced, not the class ability to summon eidolon.


OilHorse wrote:
Spacelard wrote:

Summoning the eidolon is a supernatural ability... and it is not subject to Augment Summoning.

Jason Bulmahn
Lead Designer
Paizo Publishing

I think the 2nd level spell Summon Eidolon was referenced, not the class ability to summon eidolon.

yup the spell(temporary) will allow the edolon to get the bonuses as it is a spell summoning effect but the normal("permanent")way of summoning will not


And then some wise*** casts control summoned creature.

Scarab Sages

RealAlchemy wrote:
And then some wise*** casts control summoned creature.

Hey, if they prepared that ahead of time or bothered to take it as a sorcerer... well, they deserve to have all the fun they get from temporarily controlling that eidolon.


OilHorse wrote:
Spacelard wrote:

Summoning the eidolon is a supernatural ability... and it is not subject to Augment Summoning.

Jason Bulmahn
Lead Designer
Paizo Publishing

I think the 2nd level spell Summon Eidolon was referenced, not the class ability to summon eidolon.

It wasn't

"Augment Summoning applies to the summon monster SLA as well because it functions as the spell Summon Monster.

The eidolon however does not benefit unless summoned using the Summon Eidolon spell."

It has been thrashed out in the threads years ago if you want to search, during and after playtesting the class. The quote from Jason is from one of those threads discussing if Augment Summon effects the eidolon. You have it the wrong way around.

Augment Summoning works with the 2nd level spell, Summon Eidolon.
Augment Summoning doesn't work with the class ability to summon it, ie you can't spend two feats (which you would take anyway) to get a cheap 'always on' +2 STR/CON to your eidolon.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Spacelard wrote:
OilHorse wrote:
Spacelard wrote:

Summoning the eidolon is a supernatural ability... and it is not subject to Augment Summoning.

Jason Bulmahn
Lead Designer
Paizo Publishing

I think the 2nd level spell Summon Eidolon was referenced, not the class ability to summon eidolon.

It wasn't

"Augment Summoning applies to the summon monster SLA as well because it functions as the spell Summon Monster.

The eidolon however does not benefit unless summoned using the Summon Eidolon spell."

It has been thrashed out in the threads years ago if you want to search, during and after playtesting the class. The quote from Jason is from one of those threads discussing if Augment Summon effects the eidolon. You have it the wrong way around.

Augment Summoning works with the 2nd level spell, Summon Eidolon.
Augment Summoning doesn't work with the class ability to summon it, ie you can't spend two feats (which you would take anyway) to get a cheap 'always on' +2 STR/CON to your eidolon.

No. The OP was referencing the spell not the class ability. That was what I was saying.

So what you are referencing is of no consequence.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Augment Summoning, Summoner's Call, and Summon Eidolon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.