Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

If a Dragon obtained a feat that gave them a additional breath weapon is it still under the same rules as their normal breath weapon?


Rules Questions


Like if a dragon took eldritch heritage draconic and eventually got the breath weapon of another dragon, would they have to wait 1d4 rounds before using it again?

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

If they get a breath weapon from a different source, they follow the rules for that source.

The breath weapon from the draconic bloodline, for example, doesn't have a recharge time, but it does have a uses/day limit.


So this dragon has mystic powers unlike other dragons, derived from the fact that, unlike normal dragons, this one has dragonblood in its lineage.

I know RAW is fine, but the ridiculous factor on that is massive.


Like Weirdo said, you follow the rules for that source. In the case that they aren't detailed otherwise, you follow the normal rules. For instance, if you gained a channel power in addition to a cleric's normal channel, that wouldn't change how many channel attempts you could make it a round (unless it specifically said so.) His example of the bloodline breath weapon not having a cool-down but instead a limit is correct.

Java Man wrote:

So this dragon has mystic powers unlike other dragons, derived from the fact that, unlike normal dragons, this one has dragonblood in its lineage.

I know RAW is fine, but the ridiculous factor on that is massive.

I think it's more accurate to say that this [red, blue, silver, etc.] dragon has the blood or ancestry of a different type of dragon, which accounts for why the OP said a different dragon's breath weapon. Though they would only have access to it in a limited manner and it would take a lot more time to develop and manifest in an appreciable way. I think viewing it in that context probably helps. It's not inconceivable that two dragons of differing types might mate (obviously a good and evil pairing would be highly unusual, but a tryst between two good or two evil creatures is a common trope, at least.) The game is quite open and offers many options for races and creatures to gain traits or abilities based on an 'ancestral' heritage that doesn't necessarily change their base race, but does make them unique or notably different than a baseline specimen.


Java Man wrote:

So this dragon has mystic powers unlike other dragons, derived from the fact that, unlike normal dragons, this one has dragonblood in its lineage.

I know RAW is fine, but the ridiculous factor on that is massive.

Not really. A dragon descended from other dragons would, of course, have dragon blood in his lineage. There's no denying that it's extremely meta, but it's not really ridiculous when you factor in the most basic of genetics.

Shadow Lodge

I agree with Pizza Lord that it works to represent a mixed-heritage dragon - though unless the mixing was several generations old, and therefore dilute, I'd rather make a custom dragon for that situation.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / If a Dragon obtained a feat that gave them a additional breath weapon is it still under the same rules as their normal breath weapon? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.