Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

WoTR Adventure 2, Scenario 2 Nulkineth banish question


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


In The Fifth Crusade scenario in WoTR Adventure Deck 2, the special scenario rule is "When Nulkineth is defeated, banish it and shuffle the villain Maugla into a random location."

I was wondering about which parts of the 'encountering villain sequence' are executed and which aren't?

I imagine that you don't have to "corner" Nulkineth so you don't have to try to temporarily close any other locations. Correct?

If you defeat Nulkineth, does his location get auto-closed without needing to fulfill the When Closing requirements? Does his location get closed at all?

When Maugla is added to a random location I assume that you don't add blessings from the box in the other open locations (as you normally would with an escaped villain), right?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

You will want to to temp close other locations. Although you don't need to corner the first villain, if you fail and that villain escapes you will want to have temp closed locations to cut down on the possibilities / save blessings from your deck. But yes, you can choose to not temp close locations if you are quite confident that you will be successful.

My memory is hazy on your other questions. Is there some sort of bit that says "If Maugla is dealt into a closed location, open it?" I suspect that Nulkineth's location is closed, Magula gets dealt into a random location (opening it if it is closed), and no blessings are dealt out, so you know exactly where Magula winds up.


First World Bard wrote:

You will want to to temp close other locations. Although you don't need to corner the first villain, if you fail and that villain escapes you will want to have temp closed locations to cut down on the possibilities / save blessings from your deck. But yes, you can choose to not temp close locations if you are quite confident that you will be successful.

My memory is hazy on your other questions. Is there some sort of bit that says "If Maugla is dealt into a closed location, open it?" I suspect that Nulkineth's location is closed, Magula gets dealt into a random location (opening it if it is closed), and no blessings are dealt out, so you know exactly where Magula winds up.

Thanks for the reply.

Good point about temp closing in case you fail to defeat Nulkineth. I never took that into account because I never fail a villain check ;-)

I throw everything and the kitchen sink at them. I usually end up with a roll of 40 or even 50 something against them.

And yes, there is a phrase about Maugla opening a closed location he goes into.


First World Bard wrote:

You will want to to temp close other locations. Although you don't need to corner the first villain, if you fail and that villain escapes you will want to have temp closed locations to cut down on the possibilities / save blessings from your deck. But yes, you can choose to not temp close locations if you are quite confident that you will be successful.

My memory is hazy on your other questions. Is there some sort of bit that says "If Maugla is dealt into a closed location, open it?" I suspect that Nulkineth's location is closed, Magula gets dealt into a random location (opening it if it is closed), and no blessings are dealt out, so you know exactly where Magula winds up.

[Thread hijack]

FWB! Where've you been?! Good to see you!


Feeling obliged to actually contribute....

The steps of encountering a villain (looking at the MM rulebook, which is governing, but I think it's the same in the Wrath rulebook):

Attempt to Temporarily Close Open Locations
Encounter the Villain
If You Defeat the Villain, Close the Villain’s Location
Check to See Whether the Villain Escapes
If the Villain Has Nowhere to Escape to, You Win

The scenario power overrules the last two steps (if you defeated the villain), but not the entirety of the third step. So, if you defeat Nulkineth, you banish all the cards in his location and close it. (Then, as said above, if Maugla happens to shuffle into the location Nulkineth came from, you would re-open the location.)


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Actually not sure that you need to add the "Open the location if Magula gets dealt into a closed location" rule that isn't mentioned anywhere.
It seems to me that the scenario works perfectly even if Magula gets dealt into a closed location and you don't open it.


Frencois wrote:

Actually not sure that you need to add the "Open the location if Magula gets dealt into a closed location" rule that isn't mentioned anywhere.

It seems to me that the scenario works perfectly even if Magula gets dealt into a closed location and you don't open it.

?

The Fifth Crusade wrote:
When Nulkineth is defeated, banish it and shuffle the villain Maugla into a random location; if that location is closed, open it.


elcoderdude wrote:

?

The Fifth Crusade wrote:
When Nulkineth is defeated, banish it and shuffle the villain Maugla into a random location; if that location is closed, open it.

The second part was omitted in the initial post in the thread:

Talion wrote:
In The Fifth Crusade scenario in WoTR Adventure Deck 2, the special scenario rule is "When Nulkineth is defeated, banish it and shuffle the villain Maugla into a random location."


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

Sorry guys, I answer with the info you give me. :-)

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / WoTR Adventure 2, Scenario 2 Nulkineth banish question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.