Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Dimensional Steps Conjurer Question.


Rules Questions


I have a question re: this spell-like ability. It feels like the spell is trying to explain something but it's not getting the point across. Couldn't find any better clarifications online but:

Dimensional Steps (Sp)

At 8th level, you can use this ability to teleport up to 30 feet per wizard level per day as a standard action. This teleportation must be used in 5-foot increments and such movement does not provoke an attack of opportunity. You can bring other willing creatures with you, but you must expend an equal amount of distance for each additional creature brought with you.

So it's a spell like ability which functions as a spell with the following rules for casting spells:

1: Casting Dimensional Steps does provoke attacks of opportunities (but the actual movement as the result of the spell does not.)

2: Being a spell and lacking any description to state otherwise, it follows the same rule for spells stating you need line of effect i.e.

A line of effect is a straight, unblocked path that indicates what a spell can affect. A line of effect is canceled by a solid barrier. It’s like line of sight for ranged weapons, except that it’s not blocked by fog, darkness, and other factors that limit normal sight.

Could you help us verify if point 1 and 2 are correct?

Thanks


janninu wrote:
2: Being a spell and lacking any description to state otherwise, it follows the same rule for spells stating you need line of effect i.e.

In the Actions in combat table on the PRD, using a spell-like ability is listed as provoking attacks of opportunity.


Blymurkla, that I understand, however, why does it state "This teleportation must be used in 5-foot increments and such movement does not provoke an attack of opportunity."

And do you need to have line-of-sight to the location to teleport there?


janninu wrote:
Blymurkla, that I understand, however, why does it state "This teleportation must be used in 5-foot increments and such movement does not provoke an attack of opportunity."

Often, actions provoke attacks of opportunity in two (or more) ways. Having a method of preventing one of those provoking circumstances doesn't protect you from provoking in other ways.

Casting a ranged attack spell defensively is a typical example. Normally, you provoke AoO both by casting a spell and making a ranged attack. Casting defensively avoids provoking for the spellcasting, but you still provoke with the ranged attack.

If that logic is extended to this Spell-like ability, then you provoke for activating it but not again for the movement.

janninu wrote:
And do you need to have line-of-sight to the location to teleport there?

Most likely, yes. But I can't quote a rule to prove it.


Since it's a teleport effect and teleport doesn't have that requirement (would suck a lot otherwise), I would say it's only restricted by this:

teleport wrote:
You must have some clear idea of the location and layout of the destination.

So, if you can't see it you need to know where it is, but "the other side of this door" should be fine. You can't use it to go to "wherever the bad guy is in this fog."


Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:

Since it's a teleport effect and teleport doesn't have that requirement (would suck a lot otherwise), I would say it's only restricted by this:

teleport wrote:
You must have some clear idea of the location and layout of the destination.
So, if you can't see it you need to know where it is, but "the other side of this door" should be fine. You can't use it to go to "wherever the bad guy is in this fog."

Shift replicates dimension door.

I am, however, a moron when I forgot this:

Dimension door wrote:
You instantly transfer yourself from your current location to any other spot within range. You always arrive at exactly the spot desired – whether by simply visualizing the area or by stating direction.

So, you don't need line of sight.

And if anyone wants to look it up, the ability is at the bottom of this page.


The wording is very clunky. Given that the teleportation movement itself obviously wouldn't provoke I would lean towards ruling that activation doesn't provoke.

As for line of sight, it would help if they mentioned a spell to to base it off of like for the shift ability. Jester’s Jaunt requires line of sight, while Dimension Door does not for example. I think the default is that line of sight isn't needed, so that should apply unless line of sight is specifically called out as with Jester’s Jaunt.


Gallant, there is no 'obviously' in a game such as this. Does that create 'redundant' statements? Absolutely.

Dimensional Steps provokes as a spell-like ability upon activation but the movement does not provoke.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber, Campaign Setting, Cards, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Even though the use of a spell-like ability provokes an attack of opportunity, this ability is crazy wonderful good for saving party members.

On two recent occasions I saved a party member who was either paralyzed and in danger of a coup de grace or else near zero hit points and in danger of imminent death. I used "shift" as a swift action to get next to the party member, then "dimensional steps" to take him out of the kill zone. The first time I ate the attack of opportunity, but the second time I was invisible, which AFAIK prevents the AoO.


Wheldrake wrote:

Even though the use of a spell-like ability provokes an attack of opportunity, this ability is crazy wonderful good for saving party members.

On two recent occasions I saved a party member who was either paralyzed and in danger of a coup de grace or else near zero hit points and in danger of imminent death. I used "shift" as a swift action to get next to the party member, then "dimensional steps" to take him out of the kill zone. The first time I ate the attack of opportunity, but the second time I was invisible, which AFAIK prevents the AoO.

This does not work. Shift functions as per Dimension Door and thus you have no actions after using it. Because of that you cannot Shift and then use Dimensional Steps afterwards.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Dimensional Steps Conjurer Question. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.