Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Undead and (Un)Holy Vindicator?


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Since undead are immune to bleed damage, would an undead be unable to use the Stigmata ability, or would it be an exception as a class ability?

Dark Archive

Anyone know? Does class ability trump template?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Class ability does not trump immunity unless it is specifically worded to do so (i.e. "this bleed damage applies even if the HV is normally immune"). So if the undead tries to use Stigmata, the bleed won't affect it. Since the benefits come in "while the stigmata are bleeding," they don't come in at all. There are downsides to being undead ;)

Dark Archive

Alright, yeah that's what I thought. The character in question is only semi-undead (anti-paladin, knight of the sepulcher... doesn't become immune to bleed until level 20 so as a holy vindicator she's fine since she'll never see that capstone) but I was curious just in hypothetical if she did go fully undead, she'd lose her prestige class, essentially.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Undead and (Un)Holy Vindicator? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.