Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Future Certs and a Dead Character


Roleplaying Guild General Discussion


So if you play as a pre-gen of a higher level, the character doesn't apply that cert till it reaches said level, that is understood. However, what happens if said character never reaches that level? Is that cert wasted?

I ask, cause in PFS guide, it says that the cert isn't 'applied' till the character reaches that level; so it just got me thinking, if it's not applied (and never will be), does that mean the cert is just scrapped, or can it be moved to another living character, that is below the level required? It just seems a waste to scrap it, as it was time played and really no reward gained (as the character never got to use the gold/pa/xp).

I figure it would be scrapped for the ease of paperwork, but was never able to actually find a written answer on the matter; so I thought I'd seek out an actual ruling, rather than an implied one (unless I'm blind and was not able to find an actual ruling).

Cheers.

Grand Lodge *

DrakeSpartan wrote:
Is that cert wasted?

Short answer: yes.

Shadow Lodge ****

It's toast. One reason i recommend turning it into a first level chronicle to get you out of level 1.


Thanks for the help :D

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society® / Roleplaying Guild / General Discussion / Future Certs and a Dead Character All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.