Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

New questions about immediate actions


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Hello guys,
I have a few of new questions about immediate actions.

First, I do not aware of my opponents but by some reasons I am not flat-footed in the surprise round. Can I use an immediate action?

Second, I am a Divination/Forsight wizard. I can always act in the surprise round even if I fail to aware of my opponents. There are also rules mentioned that "Combatants who are unaware at the start of battle don't get to act in the surprise round". I am not an English native speaker. How do you define "act" in these sentences? Could I take one action (standard/move/immediate/...) like other people who aware of opponents normally? Or I could only take immediate actions?


Quote:

Immediate Actions

Much like a swift action, an immediate action consumes a very small amount of time but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time—even if it's not your turn. Casting feather fall is an immediate action, since the spell can be cast at any time.

Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.

An immediate action can be used at any time, even in response to something someone else does, even if you haven't acted in combat, even if you are flat-footed, and even in a surprise round.

You can use them at any time.

Now, if you are not aware of any enemies, performing certain actions may or may not make sense. I think of the divination wizard's ability like Spidey Sense. He knows something is happening, but doesn't really know what. He can try to prepare himself (by doing something like casting a spell to protect himself) but other types of actions may or may not make sense to try to do.

In any even the divination wizard's ability allows him to always act in the surprise round, which means as normal he can gets the same move or standard action that is normally allowed in a surprise round. How they can use it, is up for debate since as I mentioned, if you are unaware of your opponent you probably shouldn't be able to take specific actions against them.


You cannot use Immediate Actions while you're flat-footed. Being able to act in a Surprise round (whether by making a Perception check or from a class ability) does not keep you from being flat-footed until your initiative order comes up in the Surprise round.

Basically, you cannot use Immediate Actions until after you have acted for the first time in a combat (general rule, an exception that kept you from being flat-footed would superceded this).

Shadow Lodge

Claxon wrote:
Quote:

Immediate Actions

...You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.

An immediate action can be used at any time, even in response to something someone else does, even if you haven't acted in combat, even if you are flat-footed, and even in a surprise round.

You quoted the rule why you can't use an immediate action while flat-footed.

Quote:

Forewarned (Su)

You can always act in the surprise round even if you fail to make a Perception roll to notice a foe, but you are still considered flat-footed until you take an action.

So, a diviner wizard cannot use an immediate action in the surprise round until their their initiative and they can act.

Scarab Sages

As a divination wizard, you always get to take a turn(act) in the surprise round.
I like to think of it as Spiderman's spidey-sense. If you fail the perception check then you don't know what the danger is but you ARE aware of danger.


Sammy T wrote:
Claxon wrote:
Quote:

Immediate Actions

...You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.

An immediate action can be used at any time, even in response to something someone else does, even if you haven't acted in combat, even if you are flat-footed, and even in a surprise round.

You quoted the rule why you can't use an immediate action while flat-footed.

Quote:

Forewarned (Su)

You can always act in the surprise round even if you fail to make a Perception roll to notice a foe, but you are still considered flat-footed until you take an action.

So, a diviner wizard cannot use an immediate action in the surprise round until their their initiative and they can act.

You know...my bad.

Dark Archive

Got it. Thanks guys.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / New questions about immediate actions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.