Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Can you touch multiple allies with a touch spell in 1 round?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Card Game, Class Deck Subscriber

If you use your standard action to cast communal resist energy, and you have multiple allies in range with one move action, can you touch multiple allies with that move action?

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber

No, you get multiple touches only from the casting of the spell.

Touch: wrote:
You must touch a creature or object to affect it. A touch spell that deals damage can score a critical hit just as a weapon can. A touch spell threatens a critical hit on a natural roll of 20 and deals double damage on a successful critical hit. Some touch spells allow you to touch multiple targets. You can touch up to 6 willing targets as part of the casting, but all targets of the spell must be touched in the same round that you finish casting the spell. If the spell allows you to touch targets over multiple rounds, touching 6 creatures is a full-round action.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

normally these kind of spells are cast out of combat which facilitates the hand waving of being adjacent or in range and touching. Everyone agrees, caster does it, GM nods.

In combat with initiative it becomes trickier to implement as you have to demonstratively meet the criteria and avoid undesirable consequences (provoking attacks of opportunity, etc). Generally all spell targets are adjacent. The PC can increase its reach with Long Arm(ACG) *grin*.
As Rysky said it's part of the casting (even though the opening statement contradicts the later quote, 8^) ) and the text allows you a move action to get people in range up to 6 willing creatures(besides the caster) but moves can bring undesired consequences.

a move expands the time & opportunity a caster could be forced to make concentration checks, see Table: Concentration Check DCs


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Rysky, Your quote means that as long as the 6 targets are within 1 move action of the caster (so that it occurs within the one round limit you quoted), the caster can indeed touch them all as free actions, after having cast the spell as a standard action.


"Free Action: Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally. However, there are reasonable limits on what you can really do for free, as decided by the GM."

The free action touches could be done during the move action, so you wouldn't need the entire group of 6 to be together at the start of the casting, or even together at the endpoint of the move action. You could run a line, and tag all those adjacent to it.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

interestingly Cast defensively does not limit (or mention) movement.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber
JoeElf wrote:

Rysky, Your quote means that as long as the 6 targets are within 1 move action of the caster (so that it occurs within the one round limit you quoted), the caster can indeed touch them all as free actions, after having cast the spell as a standard action.

Um, no, it says you can touch up to 6 people as part of the casting, not as part of your whole turn. Casting is a standard action (at least for the example spell, and most spells)


"as part of the casting" doesn't necessarily mean during the casting. The rules also say:

"In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) as a free action. You may take your move before casting the spell, after touching the target, or between casting the spell and touching the target."


This is still pretty unclear. Do we have a FAQ that relates to touch spells for willing allies? The FAQ I read for the CRB are these:

"Touch Spells: If a spell allows multiple touches, are you considered to be holding the charge until all charges are expended?"
Answer = "Yes."

"Touch Spells: In the Magic and Combat chapters, it says that I can touch a single ally as a standard action or up to six allies as a full-round action and that I can combine delivering a touch spell with a natural attack or unarmed strike. But what if I just want to deliver the touch spell to an enemy? It just says I can do it “round after round.”
Answer = "Making a touch attack against an enemy by touching it, beyond the free action to do so as part of casting the spell, is a standard action. It can’t be used with a full attack."

So, does communal resist energy work on which of these?
6 allies grouped at the point of casting of your movement?
6 allies grouped at the end of your movement?
6 allies in a line up to your movement?
2 allies at the start in round 1, 2 allies in the middle in round 2, and 2 allies at the end in round 3 [by holding the charge until all are expended, or is there no "held charge" on spells like this one]?


http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/coreRulebook/combat.html#touch-spells-in -combat

Under "Touch Spells in Combat: Many spells have a range of touch. To use these spells, you cast the spell and then touch the subject. In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) as a free action. You may take your move before casting the spell, after touching the target, or between casting the spell and touching the target. You can automatically touch one friend or use the spell on yourself..."
Under "Holding the Charge:
"If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges." This would be saying you can only do one "touch action" to deliver the spell.
"You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action." This plus the prior quoted line would say to me that you can touch up to 6 targets, but perhaps only at the start or end of the move.

It does not say that you can move and touch 6 friends [I am reading that with a move, you can for sure touch 1, but maybe not 6].
It does not say you can automatically touch 6 friends [I am reading that only 1 is automatic].
But it does say that a touch [at least 1, for at least 1 friend] is a free action, so that ought to be doable at any point in the move action.


We houseruled it that you can touch 1 person per 5ft of movement.... you just kind of stick your arm out!

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Can you touch multiple allies with a touch spell in 1 round? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.