Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Throwing Shield and Shield Master Feat Interaction


Rules Questions


The shield master feat reads, "You do not suffer any penalties on attack rolls made with a shield while you are wielding another weapon." So, the question is, does this apply to throwing shields? My guess would be that it doesn't but quick google-fu hasn't produced any results.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

The TWF penalties would not apply to the throwing shield ranged attack.


James Risner wrote:
The TWF penalties would not apply to the throwing shield ranged attack.

What about things like range penalties? I guess what I mean is, does this really mean ANY penalties when making ANY sort of attack with a shield as long as I am wielding another weapon? Or does it just mean the penalty from two weapon fighting?

Grand Lodge

Chrion wrote:
James Risner wrote:
The TWF penalties would not apply to the throwing shield ranged attack.
What about things like range penalties? I guess what I mean is, does this really mean ANY penalties when making ANY sort of attack with a shield as long as I am wielding another weapon? Or does it just mean the penalty from two weapon fighting?

FAQ

FAQ wrote: wrote:

Shield Master: When Shield Master says “You do not suffer any penalties on attack rolls made with a shield while you are wielding another weapon” it seems like in context it means you don’t take the penalty for Two-Weapon Fighting, but it just says “any penalties” so it isn’t clear. Which penalties does the feat let a character ignore?

Shield Master allows a character to ignore the Two-Weapon Fighting penalties on attack rolls with a shield while wielding another weapon, but not any other penalties.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Chrion wrote:
James Risner wrote:
The TWF penalties would not apply to the throwing shield ranged attack.
Or does it just mean the penalty from two weapon fighting?

Just TWF as shown in the short description of the feat. This question is/was asked weekly/monthly so they recently issued a FAQ clarifying this.

Grand Lodge

James Risner wrote:
Chrion wrote:
James Risner wrote:
The TWF penalties would not apply to the throwing shield ranged attack.
Or does it just mean the penalty from two weapon fighting?
Just TWF as shown in the short description of the feat. This question is/was asked weekly/monthly so they recently issued a FAQ clarifying this.

Right, but it the person asking the question doesn't know about the FAQ, then it would probably be easier to point them in the right direction rather than just answering their question in a void.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Absolutely. But I'm in vegas this weekend and looking up links (which you were awesome doing) is harder on a cell.


Thanks for the clarification and sorry for the repost. I dont know why the FAQ didnt show up in my various google searches. Its strange they havnt changed the wording on this to be more specific.

Grand Lodge

Chrion wrote:
Thanks for the clarification and sorry for the repost. I dont know why the FAQ didnt show up in my various google searches. Its strange they havnt changed the wording on this to be more specific.

No worries. They only put the FAQ out ~2 months ago. And the FAQs are very hard to search through. Basically you've just got to read them and then later on recall that something you want is in there somewhere.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Chrion wrote:
Its strange they havnt changed the wording on this to be more specific.

It's pretty specific as it stands, since it only refers to penalties with another weapon. It doesn't refer to penalties from long distance throws, from non weapon proficiency, from wearing a buckler on the same arm, or any other penalties so it doesn't help with those.


James Risner wrote:
Chrion wrote:
Its strange they havnt changed the wording on this to be more specific.
It's pretty specific as it stands, since it only refers to penalties with another weapon. It doesn't refer to penalties from long distance throws, from non weapon proficiency, from wearing a buckler on the same arm, or any other penalties so it doesn't help with those.

I think what he's meaning is that they should change the Shield Master description to actually state TWF penalties.

While I do agree with you, if only because the Shield Master table entry specifies TWF penalties, I imagine if it didn't that an Errata where the entry and the table would be changed to include it. (And it should.)

It would certainly reduce the amount of people creating threads like these, when it has already received a concise answer.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

I got that. I just think it's clear now because it only kicks in when fighting with two weapons now. So "any penalties" when "wielding another weapon" is two weapon penalties.

I suppose you could change

Quote:
You do not suffer any penalties on attack rolls made with a shield while you are wielding another weapon

To

Quote:
You do not suffer two weapon fighting penalties on your shield attacks when using a different weapon

I believe the "wielding another weapon" is by design to eliminate dual shield wielding.


Not always, but in that context it is. Problem is people (especially new players) won't catch on to it.

Also, not necessarily, since another weapon can in fact, be another shield. Because shields are weapons.


The reason that it confused me is because in the text of the feat it doesn't specifically reference the two weapon fighting feat, even though it is mentioned in the prerequisites. Even if you throw a shield you would still be "wielding another weapon" in your main hand. It seems like it would be much less confusing if they simply changed it to something like, " you do not suffer the two weapon fighting penalties when making attacks with your shield."

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Throwing Shield and Shield Master Feat Interaction All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.