Spell casting from a magic item


Rules Questions


When an item states that it allows the user to cast a spell, does this mean that the spell has the user's CL, stat bonus, etc.? For example, Ring of Telekinesis states "This ring allows the caster to use the spell telekinesis on command." So, do you use the wearer's caster level & casting stat for a telekinetic combat maneuver? Or the item's CL (9) and 15 as the casting stat (minimum for a 5th level spell)?

If the wearer is an Elf, would their bonus vs. SR apply?

Lastly, can the wearer use any relevant feats or class abilities? I know that normally you can't do this with magic items, but in this case the item is letting you cast the spell, not casting it itself.

In short, I'm trying to understand if the item language "allows the caster to use the spell..." has any meaning beyond just the usual, this magic item does X.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

No, the item is casting the spell. It's a "spell in a can" item.

The spell is cast with the CL of the item.


Abraham Z. wrote:

When an item states that it allows the user to cast a spell, does this mean that the spell has the user's CL, stat bonus, etc.? For example, Ring of Telekinesis states "This ring allows the caster to use the spell telekinesis on command." So, do you use the wearer's caster level & casting stat for a telekinetic combat maneuver? Or the item's CL (9) and 15 as the casting stat (minimum for a 5th level spell)?

If the wearer is an Elf, would their bonus vs. SR apply?

Lastly, can the wearer use any relevant feats or class abilities? I know that normally you can't do this with magic items, but in this case the item is letting you cast the spell, not casting it itself.

In short, I'm trying to understand if the item language "allows the caster to use the spell..." has any meaning beyond just the usual, this magic item does X.

As James said, is a "spell in a can", with everything fixed and independant of his user, unles specifically noted in the item's description

1-. The spell is cast by the item itself, not your player. The item has the CL on it's description and you'll use that value for everything level-related (duration, range...).

2-. In case the effect requires a saving throw, the DC## for saving will be written on the item description.

3-. Items cannot benefit from racial bonuses or metamagic feats, unless otherwise noted on their description.

4-. Normally, you CAN use a spell stored in an item as a prerequisite for something that requires that spell (for example, to craft an item requiring a specific spell)


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Unless the item in question says otherwise, you use the CL and other qualities outlined in the item's description.


Thanks all for the input. So, just to be sure, there is no functional difference between the language of, for example, ring of telekinesis "This ring allows the caster to use the spell telekinesis on command," and ring of invisibility "By activating this simple silver ring, the wearer can benefit from invisibility, as the spell"? Despite the differences in wording both are, as stated above, a "spell in a can"?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Both are Spell in a can, yes.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yep. A lot of people believed for a long time that the ring of invisibility and hat of disguise had indefinite duration since it started when you wore it. However, not too long ago the game developers clarified via FAQ that, in that in Pathfinder at least, that was not the case.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

The difference between a ring of invisibility and a ring of telekinesis (other than effect) is in the activation method. The ring of invisibility is "use activated," which is as simple as slipping the ring on a finger (or sliding it off and back on); silent, stealthy, no knowledge needed. The ring of telekinesis is a "command word" item, which requires the wearer to command the ring to function; requires speaking, which can be noticed by Perception, and knowledge of the specific activation phrase.

Still, a ring of invisibility or a hat of disguise (and juggernaut's pauldrons) can be used for almost/effectively all day. The wearer just needs to reactivate the effect every so often: every 3 minutes for a ring of invisibility, every 10 minutes for a hat of disguise, every 5 minutes for the enlarge person effect of juggernaut's pauldrons, etc.


Staves are generally the only item that's an exception to this rule.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Dragonchess Player wrote:
The ring of invisibility is "use activated,"

I don't really understand why everyone doesn't understand the item creation rules used to build the ring of invisibility.

I guess it's because there is a upcharge because the ring is that good, but it isn't use-activated it is command word.

Do people see it as 20,000 a nice round multiple of 2,000 and assume use-activated?


Rings use command words unless otherwise stated. Putting the ring on does not activate it.


Depends on the item. A ring or a page of spell knowledge allow you to cast the spell as if it is on your list of known spells, and mmnemonic vestments allow you to cast a scroll as if it's one of your known spells once per day.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
James Risner wrote:
Dragonchess Player wrote:
The ring of invisibility is "use activated,"

I don't really understand why everyone doesn't understand the item creation rules used to build the ring of invisibility.

I guess it's because there is a upcharge because the ring is that good, but it isn't use-activated it is command word.

The 1st/2nd Ed AD&D version was activated by placing it on a finger (homage to The Hobbit/The Lord of the Rings). Some of us still think of it that way.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

If it works like the spell, and we are forced to use the limited duration, why then can I not turn my table invisible, or my rogue friend?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Because it works only on the wearer.

Ravingdork, is that a serious question or a joking jab? I can't tell. My full response depends on which it is.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

It was a serious question, though seeing as I already knew the answer, it was less about the answer, and more to get people thinking about it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell casting from a magic item All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.