Blood Conduit and Feral Combat Training


Rules Questions


I'm building a Bloodrager (Blood Conduit Archetype) with a draconic bloodline. This gives me claw attacks starting at 1st level. If I take Feral Combat Training, does this cause the Spell Conduit feature I get at level 5 to trigger on natural attacks?

Feral Combat Training:

Prerequisite: Improved Unarmed Strike, Weapon Focus with selected natural weapon.

Benefit: Choose one of your natural weapons. While using the selected natural weapon, you can apply the effects of feats that have Improved Unarmed Strike as a prerequisite.

Special: If you are a monk, you can use the selected natural weapon with your flurry of blows class feature.

Spell Conduit (Su):

At 5th level, as long as a blood conduit is wearing light or no armor, he can deliver bloodrager spells with a range of touch through bodily contact. When he succeeds at a combat maneuver check to bull rush, grapple, pin, reposition, or trip an opponent, or makes an unarmed strike against an enemy, he can as a swift action cast a touch spell on the creature that he affected with the combat maneuver, requiring no further touch attack roll. If this spell would usually require a successful touch attack, his successful combat maneuver check counts as this attack.

To me, it sounds like it should, but I'm not 100% sure.

Dark Archive

Strictly reading, no. Spell Conduit isn't a feat that has IUS as a prereq so therefore Feral Combat Training will have no effect upon it's written text, which specifies you must make an unarmed strike or one of the listed combat maneuvers. A natural attack counts as none of those.

However, in a home game talk to your GM, it's probably reasonable to allow it.

Scarab Sages

It would have worked before the errata for FCT, but as the text reads now, it does not allow you to use spell conduit through a natural weapon, unless you used that natural weapon to deliver a reposition or trip.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

You can already deliver touch spells through natural or unarmed attacks.

Core Rulebook page 186 wrote:

Alternatively,

you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with
a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case,
you aren’t considered armed and you provoke attacks of
opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed
attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn’t provoke
attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the
attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed
attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the
attack misses, you are still holding the charge.

Note this is only on the following round and not the round you cast your spell. So you could cast the spell, move up deliver the touch attack (spell only). On your following turns you can hold the charge and deliver it through your natural attacks. If you have multiple charges each attack can deliver a charge.

The blood conduit ability lets you deliver the spells via Maneuvers rather than attacks.


The difference is that Spell Conduit lets you swift cast and deliver the spell on the successful attack roll, instead of spending a standard action to cast and hold the charge, only to deliver it the next round.


Agree with Suthainn. It states "feats", and that isn't one. I'd allow it, though. (especially since you're sinking two feats in it)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Blood Conduit and Feral Combat Training All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.