Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Wizard question and other stuff


Beginner Box


Hello!

Im playing the BB with my family and we are starting with the black fangs dungeon right now to start learning the basics. My first question is regaring the wizard bonded item.

1.One of my PC´s chooses the wand as a bonded item, but my question will be, with this it can be any wand that can used, for example the magic missile one + one free spell per day from the book? or just a wand that can use one spell from the book/day?

2.Now, when the PC´s do a range attack with a dagger for example, the throw it, do they have to go where the hit the monster and pick it up or who those thot works?

I thinks that is all for now, the only thing i can say is that its a little difficult to GM for first time this game XD.


xenotaff wrote:
1.One of my PC´s chooses the wand as a bonded item, but my question will be, with this it can be any wand that can used, for example the magic missile one + one free spell per day from the book? or just a wand that can use one spell from the book/day?

Arcane Bond; uses:
A bonded object can be used once per day to cast any one spell that the wizard has in his spellbook and is capable of casting, even if the spell is not prepared. This spell is treated like any other spell cast by the wizard, including casting time, duration, and other effects dependent on the wizard's level. This spell cannot be modified by metamagic feats or other abilities. The bonded object cannot be used to cast spells from the wizard's opposition schools (see arcane school below).

A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required Item Creation Feats and if he meets the level prerequisites of the feat. For example, a wizard with a bonded dagger must be at least 5th level to add magic abilities to the dagger (see Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat). If the bonded object is a wand, it loses its wand abilities when its last charge is consumed, but it is not destroyed and it retains all of its bonded object properties and can be used to craft a new wand.The magic properties of a bonded object, including any magic abilities added to the object, only function for the wizard who owns it. If a bonded object's owner dies, or the item is replaced, the object reverts to being an ordinary masterwork item of the appropriate type.

As for the Arcane Bond, your player must follow the rules for magic item creation if he adds abilities to his bonded item.

This means that until level 5 (which is when he fulfills the requirement for Craft Wands), his bonded item will only allow him to cast 1 unprepared spell per day.

When he is level 5, he can invest gold to upgrade his Arcane Bond into a specific wand. But it can't be just any Wand. He must also be able to cast said spell.

*****

A wand has a market price of:

Caster Level x Spell Level x 750 gp.

But as your player will use the rules for Magic Item Creation, he will only pay for half of that sum and spend time crafting the item.

*****

If your player wants to create a wand of Magic Missile with a caster level of 3, then he will need to pay for half the sum of:

5 x 1 x 750 = 3750 gp.

Which is 1875 gp.

This will normally take him 4 days to craft, with a Spellcraft dc of (Caster level + 5) 10.

*****

xenotaff wrote:
2.Now, when the PC´s do a range attack with a dagger for example, the throw it, do they have to go where the hit the monster and pick it up or who those thot works?

Yes. The dagger will be where the PC threw it. It does not magically return to his hand unless he has a magic item or spell which does exactly that.


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Subscriber

1. It doesn't matter what the wand's regular spell is. The wizard bonded to a wand of magic missile can use it once per day to cast any spell from his spellbook, and after he does so, the wand's still got whatever number of charges of magic missile that it had before.

2. As the GM, you're free to rule on that however you want. I generally rule that if they hit with a thrown dagger or fired arrow, they can retrieve it from the monster when they loot it. If they miss (and it didn't go off a cliff or into a vat of lava, etc.), I generally rule that they can find it after battle by attempting a Perception check or spending a minute or so searching for it.


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Subscriber

Wonderstell, they're on the Beginner Box, which doesn't have item creation rules. Arcane bond is simplified in it.


On the 2nd question, a universalist can use Hand of the Apprentice with a melee weapon to make a ranged attack. The weapon returns to the universalist instantly. Hand of the Apprentice can only be used so many times per day. Otherwise, a ranged attack would have to be treated normally, which means: yes, the wizard would have to go retrieve it.


Thank you all for your answers! helped a lot!

I have another doubt here. If the Wizard has a dagger in his hand, and wants to draw a wand, can he just put it on the other hand(not sure the action on this) or just withdraw the dagger and use a different movement to draw the wand?


Garrett Guillotte wrote:


2. As the GM, you're free to rule on that however you want. I generally rule that if they hit with a thrown dagger or fired arrow, they can retrieve it from the monster when they loot it. If they miss (and it didn't go off a cliff or into a vat of lava, etc.), I generally rule that they can find it after battle by attempting a Perception check or spending a minute or so searching for it.

According to the CRB:

CRB wrote:
Generally speaking, ammunition that hits its target is destroyed or rendered useless, while ammunition that misses has a 50% chance of being destroyed or lost.

So, arrows which strike their target are destroyed, but this rule does not apply to daggers. Daggers are sturdier, and are designed to be reused.


xenotaff wrote:

Thank you all for your answers! helped a lot!

I have another doubt here. If the Wizard has a dagger in his hand, and wants to draw a wand, can he just put it on the other hand(not sure the action on this) or just withdraw the dagger and use a different movement to draw the wand?

Moving an object to a free hand is a free action that can be done at any time. So if h uses a move action to draw the dagger, he can free action switch the wand tot he other before hand almost instantly.

Likewise handing another player an object uses up your move action, and consumes a free action for them. As well, technically your "off hand" is whichever hand is used second. There is no mechanical difference to which hand is used for casting (somatic) or attacking.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Paizo Products / Beginner Box / Wizard question and other stuff All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Beginner Box

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.