Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Spiritual Weapon (and how to use / maintain it)


Beginner Box


For starters I am very new to this game.
The question of the spiritual weapon is. Do i need to "channel" this spell?
What I mean by channel is: When I have used this spell am I free to perform normal actions in turns after I have cast the spell, or does it prevent me from making normal actions.

Also spell casting definitions would be nice. Not to put too fine a point on it, but me and someone else have begun to argue over the fact.

I think that the spell (because it says it takes one action) doesn't require me to "channel" (and I can't seem to find any word for channel or a synonym, although i could have missed it).
She thinks you have to channel it each round it's in play and i can't cast any other spells.

Grand Lodge

The weapon continues to attack the same target, following it around if necessary, without you taking any other defined game actions. You must "direct" the spell, otherwise it stops attacking. What this means and what stops it working is not very clear to me.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Cards, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

As long as the spiritual weapon continues to attack the same target, you do not need to use any actions for it.

Switching to a new target requires a move action. So you can both redirect the spiritual weapon, and either attack or cast another spell, or convert your standard into a second move action to actually move.


Wheldrake wrote:

As long as the spiritual weapon continues to attack the same target, you do not need to use any actions for it.

Switching to a new target requires a move action. So you can both redirect the spiritual weapon, and either attack or cast another spell, or convert your standard into a second move action to actually move.

Or if the target does something like dimension door 100 feet form it's original position, you'll need to spend the move action to redirect the weapon to the new location.


Thank you guys so much for the help :)

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Beginner Box / Spiritual Weapon (and how to use / maintain it) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Beginner Box

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.