Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

How many spells can a paladin prepare?


Rules Questions


It might be that I'm just stupid, but reading the documentation about paladin spells i can only find how many spells i can cast per day.

so according to this, with a CHR score of 16 (+3) at level 6, my paladin should be able to cast
2 level 1 spells.
1 level 2 spell.
1 level 3 spell.

Is this amount identical to the amount of spells i can prepare? doesn't that limit the selection a-bit?

thank you!


Divine prepared casters generally can select any spell on the appropriate list; there is no limitation that they need to "know" the spells in a hymnal or anything.

This is explicit for paladins. "A paladin may prepare and cast any spell on the paladin spell list, provided that she can cast spells of that level, but she must choose which spells to prepare during her daily meditation."

So every morning, you choose four spells from the list that you would like to be able to cast that day.


First of all, Thank you for taking the time to answer!

So wait, i can also say "I'm preparing every spell i can cast" and at a time of need just choose any?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

NO!
Using your example of spells known you can prepare the same number. So
1st Level
Bless
Cure Light wounds
2nd
Litany of Righteousness
3rd
Deadly Juggernaut

You can cast each of these spells once, you cannot cast Cure moderate wounds unless you rest and prepare your spells again and replace Litany of Righteousness with Cure Moderate Wounds


You can only cast 2 level 1 spells and nothing else, because you don't have the ability to cast higher level spells yet.

You can't cast level 2 spells until level 7.
You can't cast level 3 spells until level 10.


JohnHawkins wrote:

NO!

Using your example of spells known you can prepare the same number. So
1st Level
Bless
Cure Light wounds
2nd
Litany of Righteousness
3rd
Deadly Juggernaut

You can cast each of these spells once, you cannot cast Cure moderate wounds unless you rest and prepare your spells again and replace Litany of Righteousness with Cure Moderate Wounds

Are you sure? I can't find any documentation that says there is a limit, and there's also what Orfamay Quest said? please elaborate?

Avh wrote:

You can only cast 2 level 1 spells and nothing else, because you don't have the ability to cast higher level spells yet.

You can't cast level 2 spells until level 7.
You can't cast level 3 spells until level 10.

That's odd, looking at this:"To prepare or cast a spell, a paladin must have a Charisma score equal to at least 10 + the spell level." (), says that i need Charisma of 13 in order to cast a level 3 spell, i have 16.


Qayinisorouse wrote:
Avh wrote:

You can only cast 2 level 1 spells and nothing else, because you don't have the ability to cast higher level spells yet.

You can't cast level 2 spells until level 7.
You can't cast level 3 spells until level 10.

That's odd, looking at this:"To prepare or cast a spell, a paladin must have a Charisma score equal to at least 10 + the spell level." (), says that i need Charisma of 13 in order to cast a level 3 spell, i have 16.

Yes, having a high enough charisma is necessary, but it is not the only requirement.

You need to have a number of slots different than "-" in the table to be able to cast those spells and gain bonus spells per day from your charisma.

At level 6, you have 1/-/-/- spells from your class. You can only cast level 1 spells.

At level 7, you have 1/0/-/- spells from your class. You can cast level 1 and 2 spells.

Quote:
The ability that governs bonus spells depends on what type of spellcaster your character is: Intelligence for wizards; Wisdom for clerics, druids, and rangers; and Charisma for bards, paladins, and sorcerers. In addition to having a high ability score, a spellcaster must be of a high enough class level to be able to cast spells of a given spell level. See the class descriptions in Classes for details.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I am absolutely certain beyond any doubt and have been for a long time. I am correct, this is how EVERY prepared casting class works(except the Arcanist)

You select each day which spells you can cast that day , you can cast only the spells you prepared and not any of the other spells you could have prepared. You can cast each spell the number of times you chose to prepare it and cannot cast it more times.
(Clerics and Druids have some exceptions to this)

This is how it is . There is no confusion or complication on this issue , you are largely alone in being confused or interpreting the rules differently. I have reread the Paladin rules and cannot understand how you are interpreting them in any way except the correct one.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Also Avh is correct, you only get the bonus spells from a high charisma if you can cast the spells already.

This becomes obvious if you apply any other method to casters , if you could automatically cast the bonus spell from a high stat most wizards and clerics would start off being able to cast 5th level spells when 1st level characters and no other class would ever get to do anything.


I see,
Thank you very very much for taking the time to explain everything to me.
I'm still new to this and its hard to get my head around all the rules and sometimes the wording confuses me...

only thing now is i feel like i've made a mistake putting 16 in to CHR (25 point spread) on my ranged paladin...


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

It still ups your Smite Evil, Lay on Hands, and bonus to saves - high Charisma is rarely if ever wasted on a paladin. And you'll get the bonus spells from it eventually, once you get to where you can cast spells of that level.


Charisma is an exceptional stat for Paladins. It's pretty impossible to have "too much" charisma as that class; if I can I usually like to start in 18's in both strength and charisma (I always play melee as this class but that's just personal preference), dumping wisdom which is something I would never do as any other class.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / How many spells can a paladin prepare? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.