Solo Tactics / Outflank + Circling Mongoose


Rules Questions


What's the interaction between these? Would Circling Mongoose flanking attacks fulfill the prerequisites to trigger Outflank?

My answer was no, but I may be mistaken.

Quote:

Solo Tactics

At 3rd level, all of the inquisitor’s allies are treated as if they possessed the same teamwork feats as the inquisitor for the purpose of determining whether the inquisitor receives a bonus from her teamwork feats. Her allies do not receive any bonuses from these feats unless they actually possess the feats themselves. The allies’ positioning and actions must still meet the prerequisites listed in the teamwork feat for the inquisitor to receive the listed bonus.

Quote:

Outflank

Whenever you and an ally who also has this feat are flanking the same creature, your flanking bonus on attack rolls increases to +4. In addition, whenever you score a critical hit against the flanked creature, it provokes an attack of opportunity from your ally.

Quote:

Circling Mongoose

When you are adjacent to a foe, as a full-round action, you can take a full-attack action to make melee attacks against the foe, moving 5 feet before each attack. You must move 5 feet before each melee attack you make, and can't exceed your maximum speed, exceed your maximum number of attacks in a round, or attack any other target until the beginning of your next turn.

You must remain adjacent to the foe, and your movement provokes attacks of opportunity as normal unless you succeed at the appropriate Acrobatics checks. If your first attack against the foe hits, you are considered to be flanking the foe on your second attack. Subsequent attacks made as part of the full-attack action continue to be treated as if you were flanking the foe until one of your attacks misses, at which point your attacks are treated normally.


Doesn't look like it. Circling Mongoose doesn't treat you as your own ally, it just says you're considered to be flanking. Inquisitor still needs an ally to trigger Outflank, that ally just doesn't need to have the feat themselves.


It's possible, depending on the rule interpretation that you are considered to be your own ally for most purposes.

Is Outflank one of the exceptions.


I'm not entirely certain about Circling Mongoose, but I suspect that there is a different feat that would get you Outflank + Solo Tactics going from the MTT - albeit a bit more situationally:

Quote:

Press to the Wall

Prerequisite(s): Step Up, base attack bonus +3.

If you are the only character threatening an opponent, you can treat solid, immovable objects that occupy a square (such as columns, tree trunks, and walls) and are adjacent to that opponent as allies threatening the opponent when determining whether you flank the foe.


You may count as your own ally, but you don't count as two separate people, which is what Outflank requires.


Arachnofiend wrote:
You may count as your own ally, but you don't count as two separate people, which is what Outflank requires.

Would having MPD help? :P


Quintain wrote:

It's possible, depending on the rule interpretation that you are considered to be your own ally for most purposes.

Is Outflank one of the exceptions.

Unless my memory is wildly off (which is entirely possible, mind), aren't all Teamwork feats among the exceptions?

Pounce wrote:

I'm not entirely certain about Circling Mongoose, but I suspect that there is a different feat that would get you Outflank + Solo Tactics going from the MTT - albeit a bit more situationally:

Quote:

Press to the Wall

Prerequisite(s): Step Up, base attack bonus +3.

If you are the only character threatening an opponent, you can treat solid, immovable objects that occupy a square (such as columns, tree trunks, and walls) and are adjacent to that opponent as allies threatening the opponent when determining whether you flank the foe.

That certainly looks applicable. Of course, you're only going to get the +4 from Outflank, unless you can figure out a way for a wall to crit the target.


Quote:

In addition, whenever you score a critical hit against the flanked creature, it provokes an attack of opportunity from your ally.

If the you-are-your-ally rule applies, anytime you crit, you get an AoO by my reading.


Aye. Reasons like that are why I believe Teamwork feats are exceptions to that rule.


Super old necro:

Solo tactics still requires allies. The only thing this does is make it so your ally doesn't need matching teamwork feats for you to gain benefits.
In this case, Circling Mongoose allows you a flanking bonus against an opponent, but without an ally, the inquisitor doesn't benefit from their teamwork feats.
Outflank no worky in this case.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Solo Tactics / Outflank + Circling Mongoose All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.