Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Commonly Asked Core Campaign Questions - Look Here First!


Core Campaign

51 to 97 of 97 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
***

Nebten wrote:
Can you retrain your CORE Character after level 1 using the Ultimate Campaign rules?

No, because you need to be able to show Ultimate Campaign for that, which is not a legal source in Core

*****

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Magabeus wrote:
Nebten wrote:
Can you retrain your CORE Character after level 1 using the Ultimate Campaign rules?
No, because you need to be able to show Ultimate Campaign for that, which is not a legal source in Core

This is wrong, if you read the original blog post you will find this:

Quote:
•Retraining may be utilized as the rules currently allow, but only when a PC retrains to take an option from one of the allowed Core Campaign resources.

***

I stand corrected

The Exchange ****

andreww wrote:
Magabeus wrote:
Nebten wrote:
Can you retrain your CORE Character after level 1 using the Ultimate Campaign rules?
No, because you need to be able to show Ultimate Campaign for that, which is not a legal source in Core

This is wrong, if you read the original blog post you will find this:

Quote:
•Retraining may be utilized as the rules currently allow, but only when a PC retrains to take an option from one of the allowed Core Campaign resources.

I thought this was in refrence to the 1st level retrain rules. the ones that allow a person to change any part of thier PC before playing him above 1st level....

Grand Lodge ****

nosig wrote:
andreww wrote:
Magabeus wrote:
Nebten wrote:
Can you retrain your CORE Character after level 1 using the Ultimate Campaign rules?
No, because you need to be able to show Ultimate Campaign for that, which is not a legal source in Core

This is wrong, if you read the original blog post you will find this:

Quote:
•Retraining may be utilized as the rules currently allow, but only when a PC retrains to take an option from one of the allowed Core Campaign resources.
I thought this was in refrence to the 1st level retrain rules. the ones that allow a person to change any part of thier PC before playing him above 1st level....

Nope, that's rebuilding, not retraining. It's talking about the Ultimate Campaign rules.

The Exchange ****

Jeff Merola wrote:
nosig wrote:
andreww wrote:
Magabeus wrote:
Nebten wrote:
Can you retrain your CORE Character after level 1 using the Ultimate Campaign rules?
No, because you need to be able to show Ultimate Campaign for that, which is not a legal source in Core

This is wrong, if you read the original blog post you will find this:

Quote:
•Retraining may be utilized as the rules currently allow, but only when a PC retrains to take an option from one of the allowed Core Campaign resources.
I thought this was in refrence to the 1st level retrain rules. the ones that allow a person to change any part of thier PC before playing him above 1st level....
Nope, that's rebuilding, not retraining. It's talking about the Ultimate Campaign rules.

wait - that would mean that some sections (at least one) of the Ultimate Campaign rules are legal in Core Campaign? that doesn't sound right... (but I am by no means an expert on this...).

Silver Crusade **** Venture-Lieutenant, Nebraska—Omaha aka UndeadMitch

It's legal because the rules and guidelines for retraining are on page 10 of the GtOP, not the additional resources page.

Lantern Lodge

Can a boon gained from a non-core game that unlocks a character creation option (such as either The Waking Rune or Eyes of the Ten) be used toward a core character?

Grand Lodge ****

Lei Xiao wrote:
Can a boon gained from a non-core game that unlocks a character creation option (such as either The Waking Rune or Eyes of the Ten) be used toward a core character?

No. You have to earn those boons in Core to use them on a Core character.


I have been wanting to use Prestige to purchase an estate, per the Pathfinder Society Field Guide, for a CORE character. Would this be permitted as these purchases seem to mostly just affect Day Job checks?

The Exchange ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Belafon

Uykaine wrote:
I have been wanting to use Prestige to purchase an estate, per the Pathfinder Society Field Guide, for a CORE character. Would this be permitted as these purchases seem to mostly just affect Day Job checks?

No. The Field Guide is not a part of the Core game, so nothing from it is legal for purchase unless found on a chronicle. (And yes, there are vanities on chronicles!)

***** Venture-Lieutenant, Georgia—Atlanta aka Yiroep

I got a question.

So, if you find a weapon on a chronicle sheet that isn't normally available (say, a glaive-guisarme or something), can you take feats like Weapon Focus and Improved Critical to modify it?

Thanks.

Silver Crusade **

2 people marked this as a favorite.

First, even in CORE campaign, you have to have the source material for the items you acquire. A glaive-guisarme is from Ultimate Equipment, The Adventurer's Armory, or the Advanced Player's Guide, so one of those would have to be possessed.

If you have the material and the chronicle allowing it, then you can use the item normally, including getting feats for it, and enchanting it. Note that the other things done are restricted to the CRB in CORE, as is normal.

Paizo Blog wrote:


For players participating in the Core Campaign, only the Core Rulebook, Character Traits Web Enhancement, and Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play may be utilized for character creation.

At no time may any trait, feat, equipment, magic item, skill, animal companion, familiar, or any other character option come from a source beyond these three resources unless it appears on a Chronicle sheet. Race boons found on Chronicle sheets may not be used in the Core Campaign.

If an item appears on a Chronicle sheet, a PC may purchase and use it regardless of the book it comes from, with the exception of a boon that opens up a different character race.

Silver Crusade

I had a question with regards to retraining in the Core Campaign that I haven't been able to find.

I know it's been stated that retraining from one core option to another core option is allowed (so retraining the Dodge feat to Combat Reflexes, for example). But what I can't find out is whether the retraining HP rule is also allowed?

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Captain, Virginia—Richmond West aka Slothsy

Entilzha wrote:

I had a question with regards to retraining in the Core Campaign that I haven't been able to find.

I know it's been stated that retraining from one core option to another core option is allowed (so retraining the Dodge feat to Combat Reflexes, for example). But what I can't find out is whether the retraining HP rule is also allowed?

I don't think there's been an official statement yet, but the blog doesn't alter the retraining rules, except to disallow retraining to a non-Core resource. You should be good to retrain all options as allowed in the Guide, barring any additional clarifications from Mike Brock or John Compton.

Core Campaign Blog wrote:
Retraining may be utilized as the rules currently allow, but only when a PC retrains to take an option from one of the allowed Core Campaign resources.

Lantern Lodge ***

Are Faction Journal Cards able to be used in the Core Campaign?
I'm guessing not, but a clear steer would be helpful.

Grand Lodge ***

GM Aerondor wrote:

Are Faction Journal Cards able to be used in the Core Campaign?

I'm guessing not, but a clear steer would be helpful.

Yes

Grand Lodge

Am I correct in assuming Unchained is not allowed in Core?

*

Bill Henderson wrote:
Am I correct in assuming Unchained is not allowed in Core?

That is correct.

***** Venture-Lieutenant, Georgia—Atlanta aka Yiroep

Curious if there are any rules governing how masterwork tools work in Core campaign. For example, there is an item called "Training Harness" that gives you +2 to handle animal, but it isn't Core. Would you be able to buy a masterwork tool that does something similar?

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Captain, Virginia—Richmond West aka Slothsy

Obviously, pending further discussion by campaign management, but I assume that Core Campaign uses masterwork tools similiarly to the way they worked before UE came out and clarified those rules.

Core Rulebook wrote:

Tool, masterwork 50 gp 1 lb.

Tool, Masterwork: This well-made item is the perfect tool for the job. It grants a +2 circumstance bonus on a related skill check (if any). Bonuses provided by multiple masterwork items do not stack.

Of course, GM discretion varies widely on how masterwork tools function, so expect table variance.

Sczarni *****

I use that exact Training Harness as a guide for a Masterwork Tool for my Core Druid.

I figure if it's good enough as a 10gp item in Standard, it's good enough as a 50gp item in Core.

But, yes, consult your table GMs, as always.


Andrew Roberts wrote:
Curious if there are any rules governing how masterwork tools work in Core campaign. For example, there is an item called "Training Harness" that gives you +2 to handle animal, but it isn't Core. Would you be able to buy a masterwork tool that does something similar?

This came up, which leads to some silly ideas- the list of mundane gear in Core is not all inclusive. Does this mean that twine, frying pans, marbles and such like dont exist in a Core World?

Silver Crusade ***

Everything exists in Core campaign. There are adventures that have oracles, alchemists, summoners, magi, etc as enemies. You just aren't allowed to play them yourself. Just like all the races that exist in the regular campaign, but you aren't allowed to play.

The game world doesn't change when you play Core. You just aren't allowed to use all of the options when making your PC.

Sczarni *****

DrDeth wrote:
Andrew Roberts wrote:
Curious if there are any rules governing how masterwork tools work in Core campaign. For example, there is an item called "Training Harness" that gives you +2 to handle animal, but it isn't Core. Would you be able to buy a masterwork tool that does something similar?
This came up, which leads to some silly ideas- the list of mundane gear in Core is not all inclusive. Does this mean that twine, frying pans, marbles and such like dont exist in a Core World?

Masterwork Tool - Frying Pan

+2 to Profession (chef)

It could even be made of Mithral, since "Other items" are priced at 500gp/lb (making such an item a mere 550gp).

Sovereign Court ****

Question: I've played a certain Season 6 game involving lotsa Monks. Now the Chronicle sheet gained unlocks an Archtype which allows the PC to gain a martial weapon Profiency on a weapon with the monk property.

I also noticed that other than a quarterstaff, the rest of the monk weapons aren't available in CORE. This would mean the PC gains a Martial weapon profiency (Blank) or Martial Weapon Profiency (Quarterstaff).

Just thought I'd put this out and see what the others think?

*

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Kama, Nunchaku, Sai, Siangham and Shuriken are all Core Monk Weapons

Silver Crusade ***

It depends on the wording of the proficiency that the character is supposed to get. If it specifically says martial weapon proficiency, then I guess it doesn't apply to those exotic weapons. Which would seem to make it kinda worthless.

Sovereign Court ****

Yeah. That's the problem it says Martial Weapon Profiency and not just Monk Weapons which means All those exotic monk weapons are out of reach lol.

I suppose it would be Gains Martial Weapon Profiency(Invalid Option).

**** Venture-Agent, Canada—British Columbia—Vancouver aka prong999

I have a question about playable races. In this thread, and in Mike Brock's original post it says:

“When the Guide is updated to add a Core mode info section, it will clarify that. To clarify, only races in the Core Rulebook may be chosen at character creation.”

In the recent version of the PF Guild Guide, under character creation it says:

1. CORE OR STANDARD MODE
The first step is to decide whether to use Core or Standard
character creation rules. In Core mode, you use only the
Pathfnder RPG Core Rulebook content and this guide in
character creation.

And then, it says under playable races:

2. RACE AND AGE
Select your character’s race. The choices offered in the Core
Rulebook are always available, as are ifrit, kitsune, nagaji,
oread, sylph, tengu, undine, and wayang, provided you
own a copy of the appropriate source book.

(I'm trying to post just the relevant parts, hopefully I haven't cut anything important)

So I have some players in my local PFS that are saying that the guide is now updated, so Kitsune and whatnot are legal for Core.

I can see that the guide has been revised, but I don't believe that is a true update. And I while the players have creatively found a potential loophole, I would rule that they are not allowed to do this. However, before I slam the door on this, I thought I'd post here and see if anything has been said that would allow these races in Core.

Maybe I've overlooked something, there may has been a release statement, or something discussed at Paizo.con, etc.


That is Step Two in the instructions for creating a PFS-legal character. It's not Step Two in creating a PFS Core-legal character.

Your first choice is Core versus Standard Mode
Your second choice is Race.
If you have chosen Core mode, you're still confined to core rules during character creation.

The "as are ......, provided you own a copy of the appropriate source book." doesn't apply to Core since those source books don't apply to Core.

Dark Archive ***

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, PFS RPG Subscriber

I've got no problem if your players want to build Core Ifrits or Wayangs or whatever else, so long as they use the stats for Ifrits, et al. from the CRB.

(Joking aside, it is worth noting that there is a way to make an Oread in Core currently. So if they REALLY want to play an alternate race in Core, it is possible...)

Grand Lodge *** Venture-Lieutenant, California—Sacramento aka FLite

Keirine, Human Rogue wrote:

I've got no problem if your players want to build Core Ifrits or Wayangs or whatever else, so long as they use the stats for Ifrits, et al. from the CRB.

(Joking aside, it is worth noting that there is a way to make an Oread in Core currently. So if they REALLY want to play an alternate race in Core, it is possible...)

This has been brought to the attention of the guide review team. I will see if we can get that language cleaned up a little bit.

As one of the people who worked directly on that language, I can tell you it was not my intent in writing that to open those languages up to core.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Jared Thaler wrote:
As one of the people who worked directly on that language, I can tell you it was not my intent in writing that to open those languages up to core.

I think you mean "it was not my intent in writing that to open those RACES up to core."

**** Venture-Agent, Canada—British Columbia—Vancouver aka prong999

Jared Thaler wrote:


This has been brought to the attention of the guide review team. I will see if we can get that language cleaned up a little bit.

As one of the people who worked directly on that language, I can tell you it was not my intent in writing that to open those languages up to core.

Awesome! I look forward to the new language

Grand Lodge *** Venture-Lieutenant, California—Sacramento aka FLite

CrystalSeas wrote:
Jared Thaler wrote:
As one of the people who worked directly on that language, I can tell you it was not my intent in writing that to open those languages up to core.
I think you mean "it was not my intent in writing that to open those RACES up to core."

Correct. Sigh.

Silver Crusade ***** RPG Superstar 2013 Top 8 aka GreySector

If a normal (non-masterwork) non-core armor or weapon appears on a chronicle sheet, are we able to purchase a masterwork version? Similar to how you can purchase a small version of any weapon or armor that appears on a chronicle?

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Captain, Virginia—Richmond West aka Slothsy

I don't know about the masterwork question. Don't forget the masterwork transformation exists.

You can purchase a small version of anything. That's in the RPG Guild Guide for both campaigns.

Scarab Sages

Rigby Bendele wrote:

I don't know about the masterwork question. Don't forget the masterwork transformation exists.

You can purchase a small version of anything. That's in the RPG Guild Guide for both campaigns.

I think, yeah, you'd need the spell to transform the non-core item into a masterwork version because you can't add masterworking to an existing item.

As for sizes, I believe the wording in the RPG guide is that you can get one sized for you. You can't get it oversized or undersized, off the chronicle sheet, unless it specifically says you can (by listing a specific size for the chronicle sheet item).

Silver Crusade ***** RPG Superstar 2013 Top 8 aka GreySector

Rigby Bendele wrote:
Don't forget the masterwork transformation exists.

Not in Core, though. :(

*

Couple edge-case questions regarding chronicles, GM'ing, and playing pregens in Core games and converting a character to Standard campaign...

1) For a given set of Core GM applied to a "character" that hasn't been played at level 2+ (still a "blob"), can I turn the character into a Standard character using the full Standard set of approved content (Standard campaign classes, feats, etc.)?
For example, I GM 10 Core scenarios (1xp each, level 1-5 scenarios) and apply those chronicles to a "Core character PFS -number" character who I haven't ever played. I decide I want to use the xp for a Standard character (creating a Shaman or whatever). Am I allowed to build this character directly in the Standard campaign without needing to retrain or whatever?

2) If a Core character was converted to Standard before a higher level Core Chronicle is applied (but converted well after it was played), can I still apply that Chronicle? What happens to that chronicle?
For example, I play a Core 3-7 Scenario using a level 4 Core Pregen. During level 3, I decide to switch my character to Standard by playing at a Standard table. When I hit level 4, do I still get to apply the chronicle as normal?

Grand Lodge ***

2) It sounds as if the chronicle was earned by that character and you should apply it to him. You might encounter some argument if it was a GM or pregen chronicle that could potentially be transferred to another Core character.

Grand Lodge ***

Wait, how did you earn a higher level chronicle with your own character that you couldn't apply immediately? I think I'd like to change my answer.

*

1) You must build the character as a Core character for those levels (no non-core abilities from Core XP). If you want any non-core stuff you'll have to build & then retrain (Fairly sure this has been answered before)

2) Probably apply it as normal, but I think it needs some clarification from PFS leadership. In the normal Core -> standard conversion case you don't have to worry about ending up with two standard characters with the same chronicle, so this may be a case where order of play is more important than order of application. Starglim's comment about putting it on another character may also apply

Scarab Sages

Core related, can we hire spellcasting services for non-core spells? Not character creation and requires the GM to determine availiblity of NPC casters, but seems like an on the fence point of legality. Mostly wondering if I can hire an NPC caster to cast that Masterwork Transfermation spell, which isn't core, but at the same time, isn't granting me the player any non-core items or abilties.

That Amiri pregen, starts with a Large Bastard sword, which at later levels, is magical, despite not starting masterwork and being described as the same weapon. Been assuming she used the masterwork transformation spell, but I forgot those weren't core. I suppose the pregens don't need to adhere to the Core rules...

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Captain, Virginia—Richmond West aka Slothsy

Murdock Mudeater wrote:
Core related, can we hire spellcasting services for non-core spells? Not character creation and requires the GM to determine availiblity of NPC casters, but seems like an on the fence point of legality. Mostly wondering if I can hire an NPC caster to cast that Masterwork Transfermation spell, which isn't core, but at the same time, isn't granting me the player any non-core items or abilties.

I didn't realize that Masterwork Transformation wasn't core. Core is core is core - no exceptions for buying spells from NPCs.

Scarab Sages

Rigby Bendele wrote:
Murdock Mudeater wrote:
Core related, can we hire spellcasting services for non-core spells? Not character creation and requires the GM to determine availiblity of NPC casters, but seems like an on the fence point of legality. Mostly wondering if I can hire an NPC caster to cast that Masterwork Transfermation spell, which isn't core, but at the same time, isn't granting me the player any non-core items or abilties.
I didn't realize that Masterwork Transformation wasn't core. Core is core is core - no exceptions for buying spells from NPCs.

Source? Core bans lots of things, but the non-player characters in core are not bound by such restrictions. If we did find an NPC with this spell, we should be able to hire the spellcasting services (to cast it on an item, not for the PCs to learn the spell).

It would be up to the GM, as far as I can tell.

51 to 97 of 97 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society® / Roleplaying Guild / Core Campaign / Commonly Asked Core Campaign Questions - Look Here First! All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Core Campaign

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.