Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Why Report?


Adventure Card Guild


So ran my first PACG event yesterday and reported it as required but I have to ask (and I may just be missing something here) but why are we reporting.

The reporting has me put in the players PS# and character code plus whether they succeeded, died, gained the reward and what type of upgrade they took.

I was rather surprised to see reporting didn't take into account the level of the upgrade (in this case B or 1.) Nor did it want to know how the reward was taken (in 1-1 it can be a weapon or a spell) nor did it want to know the level of the reward (B or 1)

All the reporting seems to do is tell you what scenarios a character has completed and whether the character died. Without the level of upgrades or rewards there is no way to fact check a deck.

Am I just missing the point of the recording?

Thoughts appreciated. Feeling a little confused.

Venture-Lieutenant, Washington—Seattle aka zeroth_hour

The Chronicle sheet is the official record (again, I don't think I agree with it at least for PACG - PFS I think there's too much variability and accounting to record all the details). So that's what is used to keep track of a character's legality.

You don't get duplicate rewards if you've played that scenario with that character before, and if you died you don't get to play that character anymore, so those are the reasons for submitting the report.

I can't see my character right now (because the scenarios I've been playing haven't been submitted yet) but if there isn't one, I'd like a tab to keep track of these things in my character profile myself.

*****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber

The main reason, IMO, is that it allows Paizo a better look into how often and where is the game really being played. They can track frequency and locations, and get a better look at what type of characters the player base seems to lean towards (if any).

This kind of information can be valuable from a marketing stand point when used properly...and both their organized play systems are built to be marketing tools.

EDIT: And as Zeroth mentioned, your paper chronicle is your record...the electronic is Paizo's version stored in a searchable database...

Venture-Agent, New Mexico—Alamogordo aka pluvia33

According to the OP Guide, "reporting is very important to the success of Pathfinder Society Organized Play!"

I'm not sure exactly what that means, but I'm thinking it might have something to do with the fact that when you report, you are saying when and where you played the game and the fact that you are participating in OP at all. This might be some of the most important data for organized play. Reporting lets Paizo know how often OP events are taking place and if it is getting more or less popular over time. If the number of events begin to drop, Paizo may not feel the need to support the program as much. If popularity increases, they may increase support.

Another thing that reporting can provide to Paizo is useful play data. Did you win? Did anyone die? Those were two very important questions during the playtest and they can still be useful when gaging the difficulty of the game and OP scenarios in particular. Like, "Wow, a large percentage of characters played this scenario 4 times or more before they succeeded and a larger percentage of characters died during it. Maybe that was a little much."

Just a couple of guesses, but I think it makes sense.

Shadow Lodge *****

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Basically, it lets Paizo know how many people are actually participating in organized play. Tracking successes and failures also helps them to track the difficulty of scenarios as they're played, which allows them to adjust as needed for the following season.

Pathfinder ACG Designer

ThreeEyedSloth wrote:
Basically, it lets Paizo know how many people are actually participating in organized play. Tracking successes and failures also helps them to track the difficulty of scenarios as they're played, which allows them to adjust as needed for the following season.

Organized play programs need participation to justify their existence, among other reasons. :)


In Ghosts of the Deep scenario you get 1 upgrade for participating and a reward which is a random weapon or spell. When reporting do you check a box for both the upgrade card and the reward. What if they are the same thing?

Grand Lodge

Shade325 wrote:
In Ghosts of the Deep scenario you get 1 upgrade for participating and a reward which is a random weapon or spell. When reporting do you check a box for both the upgrade card and the reward. What if they are the same thing?

If the reward and the upgrade are the same? As in just 1 card was taken? Then I believe the reward supersedes the upgrade. You would mark that the reward was taken and the upgrade was not.


Khelthros wrote:
Shade325 wrote:
In Ghosts of the Deep scenario you get 1 upgrade for participating and a reward which is a random weapon or spell. When reporting do you check a box for both the upgrade card and the reward. What if they are the same thing?
If the reward and the upgrade are the same? As in just 1 card was taken? Then I believe the reward supersedes the upgrade. You would mark that the reward was taken and the upgrade was not.

No there were two cards.

For successfully completing the scenario you get to draw a random weapon or spell from the box. That goes into your deck and you can now use it to rebuild you deck (its sorta like an upgrade but it's being called a reward.)

In addition to that you get 1 card for an upgrade for simply playing the scenario (win or lose) as per the standard upgrade rules for ACG.

Essentially if you play the scenario once and win you get two new cards with which to rebuild you deck.

Unless I'm doing something wrong.

The Exchange

Brought up this issue in another thread, awaiting a response on what is actually to be reported. We have been doing ours exactly as you ran yours if it helps.

On two sessions of 0-1A I had to check "took reward" and only checked one box (spell) as both players took a double spell.

I have suggested that if they want both rewards and upgrades reported they need to add a second line of boon check boxes specifically to address what happened in GotD and could happen again in later scenarios.

Venture-Lieutenant, Canada—Alberta—Edmonton aka Johnny Chronicle

NOG the Demoralizer wrote:

Brought up this issue in another thread, awaiting a response on what is actually to be reported. We have been doing ours exactly as you ran yours if it helps.

On two sessions of 0-1A I had to check "took reward" and only checked one box (spell) as both players took a double spell.

I have suggested that if they want both rewards and upgrades reported they need to add a second line of boon check boxes specifically to address what happened in GotD and could happen again in later scenarios.

Similar deal here, FWIW. I've checked off both where I could (e.g.: if they picked up a spell for the reward and a blessing for the upgrade), but only one if they picked up two weapons. It seems as though your second boon checkbox line idea would work, if they want all the details.

Scarab Sages *

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Johnny Chronicle wrote:
NOG the Demoralizer wrote:

Brought up this issue in another thread, awaiting a response on what is actually to be reported. We have been doing ours exactly as you ran yours if it helps.

On two sessions of 0-1A I had to check "took reward" and only checked one box (spell) as both players took a double spell.

I have suggested that if they want both rewards and upgrades reported they need to add a second line of boon check boxes specifically to address what happened in GotD and could happen again in later scenarios.

Similar deal here, FWIW. I've checked off both where I could (e.g.: if they picked up a spell for the reward and a blessing for the upgrade), but only one if they picked up two weapons. It seems as though your second boon checkbox line idea would work, if they want all the details.

I've been doing it this way as well. =)

Grand Lodge **** Venture-Lieutenant, Wisconsin—Madison aka Totenpfuhl

Sarah Bull wrote:
Johnny Chronicle wrote:
NOG the Demoralizer wrote:

Brought up this issue in another thread, awaiting a response on what is actually to be reported. We have been doing ours exactly as you ran yours if it helps.

On two sessions of 0-1A I had to check "took reward" and only checked one box (spell) as both players took a double spell.

I have suggested that if they want both rewards and upgrades reported they need to add a second line of boon check boxes specifically to address what happened in GotD and could happen again in later scenarios.

Similar deal here, FWIW. I've checked off both where I could (e.g.: if they picked up a spell for the reward and a blessing for the upgrade), but only one if they picked up two weapons. It seems as though your second boon checkbox line idea would work, if they want all the details.
I've been doing it this way as well. =)

I was just recording the reward myself as there doesn't really seem to be a spot for the upgrade unless you think of the 'boon' as the reward adn then it makes sense. Has anybody clarified this yet?

Grand Lodge **** Venture-Lieutenant, Wisconsin—Madison aka Totenpfuhl

Another thing, I reported two tables that didn't succeed and they don't seem to be showing up even though it says my character has sessions. Am I doing something wrong or does it only show up when you complete the scenario?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder PFS RPG Subscriber

Ran our first ACG organised play event (0-0A on the Horizon) the other day (our first RP ones are nearly fully subscribed and running and starting in April) and got to the point where I have to report.

Entered PS#, the fact they were successful and the nature of the card they earned for succeeding then saved.

How do I finalize the event as such. This being said the folk involved with playing this session have informed me that their characters have the session registered against them so is there a need to finalize?

Also for some reason, unbeknownst to me, it seems to have created a second session for the event (which i haven't filled in)


Varisiaguy, did you get this worked out?

This forum does not have the visibility it once did because it is no longer cross-linked to the Adventure Card Game forums. (They're working on fixing that.)

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society® / Adventure Card Guild / Why Report? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Adventure Card Guild

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.