Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

>>Ask *Mark Seifter* All Your Questions Here!<<


Off-Topic Discussions

6,101 to 6,120 of 6,120 << first < prev | 113 | 114 | 115 | 116 | 117 | 118 | 119 | 120 | 121 | 122 | 123 | next > last >>

It seems like it might be OK to ask mechanics questions here but I apologize if it is not. I will start off with a simple one and see how it goes…

Ultimate Intrigue wrote:

Acrobatic Spellcaster (Combat)

Your skillful movements prevent foes from disrupting your spells.

Prerequisites: Combat Casting, Skill Focus (Acrobatics).

Benefit: When you succeed at an Acrobatics check to move through a threatened square without provoking attacks of opportunity or to move through an enemy’s space, creatures denied attacks of opportunity by your Acrobatics check also cannot make attacks of opportunity against you when you cast spells for the remainder of your turn.

Normal: Casting a spell within an enemy’s reach provokes attacks of opportunity even after you succeed at an Acrobatics check to move through a threatened square.

My question is, can you make the acrobatics check to avoid the attack of opportunity from spellcasting without making a move action? I am asking from the perspective of a Magus who would like to use acrobatics to avoid the AoO and still be able to use Spell Combat which requires a full round action.


Mark, is it possible you missed my question, or are you still going through the backlog?

I know my last question's small-time, but I'd like to have it answered before I move on to other questions.


Markerino,

One of my favorite abilities ever printed is the Iroran Paladin's Confident Defense:

Quote:
Confident Defense (Ex): At 1st level, when wearing light or no armor and not using a shield, an Iroran paladin adds 1 point of his Charisma bonus (if any) per class level to his Dexterity bonus to his Armor Class. If he is caught flat-footed or otherwise denied his Dexterity bonus, he also loses this bonus. This ability replaces his proficiency with medium armor, heavy armor, and shields.

I particularly like it because:

a) it discourages dumps while optimizing ability scores,

b) enables light-armored STR-based builds, as 12 DEX/16 CHA already maximizes light armor AC by level 2.

Sadly I never saw any ability using this design again.

Do you guys prefer to keep STR guys in heavier armors and DEX guys in lighter armors for optics?


Chess Pwn wrote:
trecladi wrote:

Dear Mark,

I have a few question but can't find answers on the forum.

- Can stunning fist used while flurrying?
- Can unchained monk go only in a straight line while using flying kick?
- last one, can I put brawling enchantment to bracers of armor?

thank you in advance.

Yes, just declare it on one of your attacks,

I don't know, so Mark can weigh in here.
No, they aren't light armor.

That's so kind of you.

So let's wait for Mark answer 'bout flying kick.

As for Brawling, It would be awesome if you had a faq or page to link me!


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber
trecladi wrote:
As for Brawling, It would be awesome if you had a faq or page to link me!

Do you have anything saying it is light armor? There's a FAQ that says mithral medium can't have brawling cause it's not light armor. Bracers aren't light armor for anything, so why would they count as light armor for brawling?


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Legends Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

Hm. What does this "brawling" thing say about no armor? How, exactly, is "armor" defined? Is a Mage Armor spell armor?


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Ed Reppert wrote:
Hm. What does this "brawling" thing say about no armor? How, exactly, is "armor" defined? Is a Mage Armor spell armor?

Brawling.

Ultimate Equipment wrote:
The brawling ability can be applied only to light armor.

Mage armor is not armor. It is a spell.


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Legends Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

My point is that without a clear definition of what armor is it's kind of hard to say what it is not.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Ed Reppert wrote:
My point is that without a clear definition of what armor is it's kind of hard to say what it is not.

Is there a reason to assume that the rules are referring to things that are not objects listed as armor under appropriate sections in various sourcebooks (such as here, here, and here) as armor? It seems like a stretch to assume effects or objects not under this category are armor, unless they explicitly state that they're considered armor for appropriate effects...


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Legends Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

I'm not assuming anything. I'm saying I don't know.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

For this purpose: armor is anything which takes the armor body slot. Bracers are not armor.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

In regards to the Adventurer's Guide Lore Warden: What was the logic behind excluding Appraise from their class skills? Not only is it one of the least-used skills in the game, but it actually seems flavor-correct in that Pathfinder agents ought to be able to recognize the correct MacGuffin they're searching for.

I'm not mad, just curious why that one Int-based skill was singled out to be excluded. :)

Paizo Employee Designer

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Last FAQ Friday in a while (with Paizocon and then Jason at UK Games Expo):

FAQ wrote:

Mythic Form of the Dragon: Mythic form of the dragon says that it increases my breath weapon damage to 10d6, but 10d6 isn’t actually an increase for form of the dragon II or III. Does that mean the mythic version reduces my damage?

No, instead mythic form of the dragon should increase your breath weapon damage by 2d8. This will be reflected in the next errata.


It's a FAQ Friday!


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
Psychic Magic wrote:
When a spell calls for an expensive material component, a psychic spellcaster can instead use any item with both significant meaning and a value greater than or equal to the spell's component cost.

Can we get some guildlines as to what is meant by "any item" and "significant meaning".

1.) Would a well known Door such as the one outside the Mines of Moria count as an item? Is there a size limit on what an item is? Could a tavern be used?

2.) What if the item is magic, intelligent, or an artifact? Does it receive a saving throw against anihilation? Is this another way of destroying an artifact, consumption as a material component?

3.) Does it matter to whom the item has significant meaning?

4.) How significant is significant? If every time a psychic wishes to cast a spell with an expensive component, they have to destroy something as significant as their wedding ring, then I doubt many of these spells will ever be cast. How significant is significant?


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Legends Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber
Chemlak wrote:
For this purpose: armor is anything which takes the armor body slot. Bracers are not armor.

Are gauntlets armor?


Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Ed Reppert wrote:
Chemlak wrote:
For this purpose: armor is anything which takes the armor body slot. Bracers are not armor.
Are gauntlets armor?

They're light weapons that sometimes come for free with some forms of armor.


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Deluxe Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Legends Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber
Luthorne wrote:
Ed Reppert wrote:
Chemlak wrote:
For this purpose: armor is anything which takes the armor body slot. Bracers are not armor.
Are gauntlets armor?
They're light weapons that sometimes come for free with some forms of armor.

Interesting. Gauntlets are listed in the simple light weapons table in Ultimate Equipment. Locked gauntlets are listed as armor "extras" in the same book.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Mark,

Why is Paizo still printing Weapon Training-type scaling abilities, which give you a big bonus in one instance, and smaller bonuses in others, nesting doll-style?

Weapon Training, Maneuver Training, Favored Enemy, Favored Terrain... all of these abilities make you feel like crap when you can't apply your highest bonus, your smaller bonuses provide little "joy". This should be the first thing to get Unchained in your next books.


Mark,

I have a question about replacing Utility/Infusion Wild Talents

At 6th, 10th, and 16th levels, a kineticist can replace one of her utility wild talents with another wild talent of the same level or lower

and

At 5th, 11th, and 17th levels, a kineticist can replace one of her infusions with another infusion of the same effective spell level or lower

Is there any plans to alter this to being more in line with a fighters ability to replace combat feats?

6,101 to 6,120 of 6,120 << first < prev | 113 | 114 | 115 | 116 | 117 | 118 | 119 | 120 | 121 | 122 | 123 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Community / Off-Topic Discussions / >>Ask *Mark Seifter* All Your Questions Here!<< All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.