A wizard, cleric and his scroll of cure light wounds


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Say you have a level 1 wizard with scribe scroll and a level 1 cleric without scribe scroll.

Can the wizard and the cleric work together and create a divine scroll of cure light wounds?

PF-SRD wrote:
If you need another character to supply one of an item's requirements (such as if you're a wizard creating an item with a divine spell), both you and the other character must be present for the entire duration of the crafting process.


the text you quoted certainly applys to wonderous items, but I am pretty sure that it is not meant to appy to scrolls.

Grand Lodge

Andreas0815 wrote:

Say you have a level 1 wizard with scribe scroll and a level 1 cleric without scribe scroll.

Can the wizard and the cleric work together and create a divine scroll of cure light wounds?

PF-SRD wrote:
If you need another character to supply one of an item's requirements (such as if you're a wizard creating an item with a divine spell), both you and the other character must be present for the entire duration of the crafting process.

No. You the scribe MUST know the spell personally, this also applies to potions and wands.

Scarab Sages

As per the 1st sentence of the 3rd paragraph from the Creating scrolls section in the CRB, pg. 552:

"The creator must have prepared the spell to be scribed (or must know the spell, in the case of a Sorcerer or Bard) and must provide any material and focus the spell requires."

So in the situation you describe, no the Cleric can't be of assistance.


Well, but it also says:

"Note that all items have prerequisites in their descriptions. These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created. Most of the time, they take the form of spells that must be known by the item's creator (although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed)."


Hmm, i also just saw this:

" In addition, you cannot create potions, spell-trigger, or spell-completion magic items without meeting its prerequisites."

Scrolls are spell completion (afaik), but if the cleric casts the cure spell, i (the wizard) do indeed meet all the prerequisites, no?


I think the other spellcasters can get you around requirements for wondrous items, but scrolls, potions, wands, the specific rules for each of those over-rules the more general rule you are quoting.

Liberty's Edge

You can.

Sean K Reynolds wrote:
Oliver McShade and the Core Ruleook wrote:
"It is possible for more than one character to cooperate in the creation of an item, with each participant providing one or more of the prerequisites. In some cases, cooperation may even be necessary."
A wizard and a cleric cooperating to craft a scroll of cure light wounds are, between the two of them, meeting all of the prerequisites for the item's creation. Thus, the "you cannot create this if you don't meet all the prerequisites" rule on page 549 does not apply, because "you" in the case of cooperative crafting is "the people involved in crafting the item."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / A wizard, cleric and his scroll of cure light wounds All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions