
ewokspy |
I'm just trying to clarify the Legendary Item Ability from Mythic Adventures.
When I gain this, I get a legendary weapon with a number of additional abilities equal to or less than my mythic tier. So if I take it at 1st tier, I get one ability on the weapon. But when I get to second tier, and the maximum number of abilities goes to 2, do I select an additional ability? It doesn't seem, based on the rules that happens. It seems like the abilities don't scale so you only get what you get when you take it. Thoughts on this?

Dead Phoenix |

When a mythic creature creates a legendary item (using the legendary item universal path ability, the item can have up to three additional abilities, but no more than the number of tiers possessed by the creature bonded to it.
This maximum increases to six if the bonded creature selects the legendary item universal path ability twice, and then to 10 if the bonded creature selects the ability three times (again, the maximum cannot exceed the bonded creature's number of tiers). These abilities are added at the rate of one per day.
Basically, once you take the path ability, the item gains one legendary ability, per day until it reaches your current cap based on how many times you've taken the path ability or it reaches a number of abilities equal to your tier, which ever comes first. Once you gain another tier, the item gets another ability(assuming you haven't reached the max yet and it didn't already gain an ability that day).

ewokspy |
Quote:Basically, once you take the path ability, the item gains one legendary ability, per day until it reaches your current cap based on how many times you've taken the path ability or it reaches a number of abilities equal to your tier, which ever comes first. Once you gain another tier, the item gets another ability(assuming you haven't reached the max yet and it didn't already gain an ability that day).When a mythic creature creates a legendary item (using the legendary item universal path ability, the item can have up to three additional abilities, but no more than the number of tiers possessed by the creature bonded to it.
This maximum increases to six if the bonded creature selects the legendary item universal path ability twice, and then to 10 if the bonded creature selects the ability three times (again, the maximum cannot exceed the bonded creature's number of tiers). These abilities are added at the rate of one per day.
Right, that's what I was afraid of. So you have to be very careful to take this mythic path at the tier that will give you all the abilities you want. Like waiting until 4th level tier to take the second legendary item, so you can get 3 more abilities. I just found it strange the ability didn't scale in level like most abilities do.

Dragonchess Player |

There is a specific reason why it scales the way it does:
By selecting the legendary item universal path ability more than once, a mythic creature can transform a normal legendary item into either a minor artifact (if the character chooses it a second time) or a major artifact (if the character chooses it a third time). A minor artifact legendary item can have up to six additional legendary abilities, and gains the difficult to destroy ability (see below). A major artifact legendary item can have up to 10 additional legendary abilities and gains the difficult to destroy ability.
It's not just the number of legendary abilities. It's also that the item becomes a minor or major artifact on top of the base item abilities and legendary abilities. A "normal" legendary item can still be destroyed by enough damage. Artifacts, however:
Difficult to Destroy: An artifact can’t be destroyed by normal means. Though a minor artifact has hit points and can be broken, it can’t be destroyed by taking additional hit point damage. A major artifact is immune to hit point damage and can’t gain the broken condition. Instead of being destroyed by taking hit point damage, both minor and major artifacts are instead destroyed when a creature successfully performs a very specific and often difficult task. The GM gets to determine what action is necessary to destroy the artifact, and should look to other artifacts’ destruction entries for inspiration.

ewokspy |
I apologize for bringing this post back from the grave, but having just received our second mythic tier (Yay!) this is now important. Do I have to add a new ability to the legendary item?
The wording from the book says "the item can have up to three additional abilities, but no more than the number of tiers possessed by the creature bonded to it."
So the 'can' suggests a choice to add, although later it says he abilities are added, so I just want to see what others think. Thanks in advance.