How many magic potions can you drink?


Rules Questions


I've read the rules on potions and don't see any limits on how many potions magic effects you can stack? For instance you can drink;

Bull Strength
Cat's Grace
Barkskin
Haste

AND on equipment

Magic Vestment (oil on armor)
Keen (oil on weapon)

An NPC can take 6 rounds with the Haste potion being the last round (10 round action right) and be ready for combat?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

There are no limits on the number of potions you can have effecting you at any one time (or spell effects, for that matter). Just a limit of drinking 1 per round (as its a standard action, and you only get one of those per round).


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I imagine that at some point you'd have to think about water toxicity. "Okay, I am now under the effects of every buff spell of 1st-3rd level with a duration of longer than five minutes. Does anyone have Detect Restrooms?"


I don't think there's a limit, but the question sure sounds like a jump-rope song of Golarion.


I'm not aware of a limit to the number of potions, but as usual you could not stack multiple bonuses of the same type.


All of them given enough time.

Liberty's Edge

Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
All of them given enough time.

...and bladder control. :p


Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
All of them given enough time.

That sounds like an excellent character hook. "It is my sworn quest... to drink ALL the various potions Golarion has to offer!"


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Loup Blanc wrote:
Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
All of them given enough time.
That sounds like an excellent character hook. "It is my sworn quest... to drink ALL the various potions Golarion has to offer!"

Achievement unlocked: Drinking Problem


Awww, I ain't got no drinkin' problem - you keep on pourin' em and I'll keep on drinkin' em.

Dark Archive

Is there any residual liquid left over to drink?
Or is the potion treated like material components of a spell and are "used up" after the magic takes effect?

I don't see any indication either way. It looks like "expect table variation".

Regardless they are only one fluid ounce each. It will take a lot to have any bodily side effects.

Liberty's Edge

ZomB wrote:

Is there any residual liquid left over to drink?

Or is the potion treated like material components of a spell and are "used up" after the magic takes effect?

I don't see any indication either way. It looks like "expect table variation".

Regardless they are only one fluid ounce each. It will take a lot to have any bodily side effects.

Have you seen how many possible potions there are? At one oz each, that's a couple of gallons. :p


Loup Blanc wrote:
Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
All of them given enough time.
That sounds like an excellent character hook. "It is my sworn quest... to drink ALL the various potions Golarion has to offer!"

Or a very well worded curse.


A potion is just a spell in a bottle. There is no limit, but they are not exactly cheap so it is still better to use actual scrolls or wands so you can save money.

edit:added "use"

Liberty's Edge

wraithstrike wrote:
A potion is just a spell in a bottle. There is no limit, but they are not exactly cheap so it is still better to actual scrolls or wands so you can save money.

Wands are the winners in that...but you can't drink 'em. ;)


EldonG wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
A potion is just a spell in a bottle. There is no limit, but they are not exactly cheap so it is still better to actual scrolls or wands so you can save money.
Wands are the winners in that...but you can't drink 'em. ;)

You could. You'd just need a really good blender to get rid of all the splinters.

Potion of Metamucil, anyone?

Liberty's Edge

Ahhh...
Remember AD&D? Every time a character drank a potion while under the influence of another potion, a d% roll determined the result. The result could be anything from one potion's becoming permanent to an explosion.

Liberty's Edge

Xaratherus wrote:
EldonG wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
A potion is just a spell in a bottle. There is no limit, but they are not exactly cheap so it is still better to actual scrolls or wands so you can save money.
Wands are the winners in that...but you can't drink 'em. ;)

You could. You'd just need a really good blender to get rid of all the splinters.

Potion of Metamucil, anyone?

Magic Missile flavored?


Theconiel wrote:

Ahhh...

Remember AD&D? Every time a character drank a potion while under the influence of another potion, a d% roll determined the result. The result could be anything from one potion's becoming permanent to an explosion.

Yes.

Dumb rule.


I thought the Miscribility table was awesum.
A lucky roll and gobblin #3 could breathe fire once a round :)
One hell of a nasty shock for the party and gobblins allways seemed to have potions as treasure.

The Exchange

welll if you wondered what might happen refer to this


Old forum, but one thing not mentioned: what happens when you have more than one potion in a vial? Strictly speaking it's supposed to be a standard action per potion, but when combined...I mean, really, how hard is it to swallow 4 ounces of liquid in a few seconds?

Bad for balance, but realistically possible. THIS is why earlier editions had potion consequences.


groveborn wrote:

Old forum, but one thing not mentioned: what happens when you have more than one potion in a vial? Strictly speaking it's supposed to be a standard action per potion, but when combined...I mean, really, how hard is it to swallow 4 ounces of liquid in a few seconds?

Bad for balance, but realistically possible. THIS is why earlier editions had potion consequences.

You can't put more than one potion in a vial. If you do so as a normal course of things, the magical properties of both potions would be destroyed and the thing would just become plain old liquid.

There currently exists no magical item or ability to combine two potions. A Hybridization Funnel works like this for alchemical splash weapons, and it's possible your GM would allow you to create such an item for potions, but it would likely be expensive and should come with the same drawbacks as the funnel--requiring a Craft check to perform successfully and if the combined potions were not consumed in a certain period of time, they would become inert liquid.


You can, however, set Wordspells to trigger when you pop open a potion bottle. Handy way to get buffs going in an otherwise limited system.


Some things in this thread that are a bit incorrect.

Drinking a potion is a standard action. Anything that lets you take extra standard actions lets you consume more ready potions. There are also feats, a trait, and items that change the action economy of potions. So for instance if you have the trait Accelerated Drinking it becomes a move action to drink a potion.

Also some modules offer treasure that has a single potion bottle that contains several doses of the same potion. You could blame the author for doing something 'illegal' but when its in a Piazo printed source...is it? This isn't mixing different types of potion, just putting more than 1 of the same in a container. Also each dose takes a separate action to consume because that hasn't changed.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / How many magic potions can you drink? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.