
Rasmus Nielsen |
So, I've had trouble understanding how these two interact, while I realize that at a glance the two have no compatability issues, I am having trouble seeing how a Bladebound could for instance make the Black Blade his Bonded item, since while it states that the weapon starts out as masterwork, and a magic weapon "counts" as Masterwork, it also later states, that if you lose the weapon or it's destroyed, it loses all enchantments, and starts out as a normal masterwork weapon.
That aside, the Arcane Bond feature, would not be able to pick the Black Blade, as the Black Blade is an intelligent magic item, which have different rules than normal magical items, but even then, the Black Blade is *not* a Masterwork item, *period* it may "count" as one, but it is not a Masterwork item, which the rules states that it *must* be when you aqquire the Bonded Item.
Now, I can understand that that doesn't mean that the Bladebound and Soul Forger couldn't have a Black Blade, AND a Bonded Weapon as well, though, even then, would a Bonded Weapon not *count* as a Familiar of some kind? Isn't the intent of the Black Blade, that the Black Blade be the most important thing, as in, it'd not want you to have a Mount, or an Animal Companion either, or is the Black Blade only tied to *Familiars* (Witches, Wizards, specifically those called Familiars?) And, as far as I can understand, you cannot improve and upgrade Black Blades, due to them being intelligent items, and progressing as "creatures" do...all in all, I'm slightly confused by how exactly they work together, by the rules, both as written and intended.

![]() |
It just goes to show that not everything that's allowed by rules is going to make sense.
I myself would consider these two types overlapping at least in theme even if not in "RAW", that they effect the magus's weapon.
I see them as very opposite in theme, The soul forger is the magus who makes her weapon, the Bladebound is the magus MADE by her weapon.

Saint Bernard |

I looked at the rules on both last night and while the combination would be a bit unusal I could see someone role playing it. It would take a bit of planning and restraint to pull off. The Sould Forger gets a weapon arcane bounded object at 1st level. The weapon must meet the criteria to be a black blade and the Soul Forger can't enchant it using the arcane bound rules. At 3rd level, the Bladebound kicks in and it is now a sentient black blade. The ability to enchant the weapon would be lost but it can still be used to spontaneously cast a spell known.
From a role playing standpoint I can see a dwarf or a half-elf/orc trying to be more to the community than just a warrior blendng the two paths.

CraziFuzzy |

I know that is not really RAW but I tend to read the sentence:
Bladebound wrote:A magus with this class feature cannot take the familiar magus arcana, and cannot have a familiar of any kind, even from another class.As meaning no familiar or similar thing like a bonded item.
To me, that would imply he cannot bond with an item beside his black blade. however, if the black blade was his bonded item, i don't see how it would necessarily be disallowed - but as mentioned, I also don't see a reason to bother either.