Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Adopted Trait


Advice

Scarab Sages

Instead of getting a flat +1 will save trait, would it not be better to get more wisdom using the adopted trait??

I assume that i can use the Vanars +2 dex +2 wisdom -2 char instead?

That would put me at only 5 charisma but that is not that bad is it?

Only been playing for a few weeks btw :)

Thanks for all the help and speedy replies in advance!


Adopted doesn't let you take those kind of abilities.

Try Here

Dark Archive

It would, however, let you take Adopted: Dwarf (Glory of Old) for +1 vs. poison, spells and spell-like abilities.

...I think.

-e-

Nope, nevermind. A shame!

Scarab Sages

Seranov wrote:

It would, however, let you take Adopted: Dwarf (Glory of Old) for +1 vs. poison, spells and spell-like abilities.

...I think.

-e-

Nope, nevermind. A shame!

dont see it on the list kato linked :(

Dark Archive

Yeah, it doesn't count. I guess it has to be a specific type of race trait (and not a racial trait, either) to work.

Lantern Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I had the exact same issue with one of my players; he insisted that Darkvision was a valid racial trait to take with the "Adopted" trait. He was wrong.

The Adopted Trait allows you to select one Trait from the specific Race section of the Traits list for your adopted race. You still must meet any pre-requisites. In order to take the Dwarf Race Trait that gives you a +1 bonus on your magic-related saves, you'd still have to have the Hardy racial ability of the Dwarf race.

Now, the Racial Heritage feat allows you to count as the selected race for purposes of spells, feats, magic items, and such. You must still meet any pre-requisites, though. For example, you still don't have the Hardy racial ability, so you can't take the Steel Soul feat.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

It is simple.

Adopted gives you a Race trait, not a Racial trait.

They are quite different.


Yeah, it's an easy mistake to make. The naming of race and racial traits is unfortunate writing.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Advice / Adopted Trait All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.